Skip to content

Decompressing

June 4, 2011

Who was I kidding when I made plans to go the gym after work and even packed my workout gear this morning?!  New rule, at least during the summer months, if I want to work out on Fridays, it has to be in the mornings. Once 4:30pm rolled around, the only thing on my mind was sitting on a patio with a glass of Pinot Grigio. I called up my hubby and in 15 minutes we were at our favorite Happy Hour spot – the Crossroads Bar and Grill. We are both big fans of this place: it’s close to work, the food variety and quality is very good with relatively healthy choices, prices are affordable and we can people-watch as crowds enter the Crossroads mall.

This time, I tried their Chop Chop salad (romaine lettuce, roasted turkey, provolone cheese, fried chickpeas, roasted peppers with vinaigrette dressing, on the side, of course). I also had their homemade hummus with toasted pita and veggies. Delicious! Yes, I ate both all by myself and my only excuse is that they were “small” restaurant plates.

Photo_6B7DD521-330C-3BFA-E9F5-8B7B7EFBF805

Photo_E5F48A6F-4CAD-7E25-0205-96328E0F6A43

Of course, as we devoured our food, sunlight warming our cheeks, we got a whiff of Cold Stone Creamery’s freshly baked waffle cones and who can resist that?!

Photo_7111055D-B0FA-AA13-4106-A8AA95CC544A

I did my best by ordering their Signature Cheesecake Like It-size and substituting Sinless fat-free, sugar-free for my base instead of regular cake batter flavor. Nevertheless, I am already over my calorie budget for the day and the night is still young. Luckily I am going for a 11 mile run tomorrow morning with a bunch of folks from my gym, so those extra calories should not stick around. This was a spur of the moment decision as both Eric and I are not big fans of Cold Stone. I find their ice cream too rich, too sweet and too fattening. My preference is soft serve frozen yogurt but we have such limited selection in Seattle area unlike those lucky Californians who have yogurt shops with fresh fruit toppings on every corner. My retirement dream is to open a frozen yogurt shop and that would also mean we’d need to live somewhere warm and sunny so my shop stays in business all year around, which is perfect for when grandkids come and visit. I am a long term planner Smile

What’s your favorite thing to do on Friday nights?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    June 4, 2011 5:02 am

    You’re brilliant! You end every post with a question. I should start doing that 🙂
    Anson and I like to watch a show or movie and just relax in our pjs on Friday nights. Just relax. Normally, if we go out on the weekend, we go out Saturday night or Sunday afternoon.

  2. Ashley permalink
    June 6, 2011 5:55 am

    We’ll have to try that Crossroads place – it looks great!! and we do not like coldstone either 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Hungry Hulk «
  2. 7 Habits of Healthy Me «

Leave a Reply

