Skip to content

Resort-ing to Mt. Hood

June 4, 2011

One thing I might have not yet shared with you is that I am a deal hunter, so when Groupon sent me a special for The Resort at Mt. Hood with no blackout period I was quick to purchase it and make reservations for this Memorial day weekend. Eric and I love traveling. Long trips, weekend getaways, overnight stays, we will go by air, land, sea or whatever the means of transportation are necessary as long as I have Gravol (Best Canadian anti-nausea drug ever!) Mini-vacations in a hotel are great to take our minds of daily tasks, errands, and infinite list of home projects. The resort is located at Welches OR, right after Sandy, OR both of which are tiny towns on the way to Mt. Hood approximately 160 miles from our house in Redmond, WA. It took us just over 4 hours of driving, including our stop at Olympia for Starbucks as Eric’s never been to our state’s capital.

Photo_C37729D7-971F-FB9F-6433-FDD11BBED4BC (1)

Overall our stay was very nice and fairly uneventful. The highlight was the 5 mile jogging path that I ran three times during our stay. I felt like I was in a New Balance commercial where it’s just me, the road, and trees and mountains in the background. The air was so fresh that it made me feel a bit lightheaded or maybe it was the wine from dinner the night before, but it was great to explore the woods of Oregon state. The biggest downer was the weather. It was cloudy and drizzly most of the weekend, but we had a gas fire place in our room, which came in handy.

I got a spa gift certificate as part of the special and had a massage of a lifetime. My therapist decided to keep massaging me for 90 minutes even through it was only supposed to be 50. Note to self, go with male therapists from now on Winking smile

On the way back we stopped by a local Safeway and I could not resist their selection of organic produce so we came home with Oregon peaches, nectarines, pears, and bing cherries. It seems the more South we go, the better the food gets, even at national chains like Safeway.

 

How do you like to vacation? What did you do this Memorial day weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    June 4, 2011 5:03 am

    What is this word “vacation” that you speak of? I have been on many a stay-cation, but most of our travels have been to MD. Though, we did take an awesome trip to the Bahamas this past year 🙂

  2. Erin permalink
    June 4, 2011 12:47 pm

    I love to vacation near a beach. The sound of the waves crashing is SO relaxing. I’m a big fan of going to new places. This year will be L.A at the end of June.

Trackbacks

  1. Fitting it all in «
  2. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

