Skip to content

Grocery Shopping Day

June 6, 2011

I tend to stock up on groceries once a week, usually on the weekend and preferably in the morning to avoid the crowds and get the best and freshest selection. I always go to Trader Joe’s first and take my time picking the items and planning the meals for the week. I then stop by QFC to check out their weekly specials and pick up any missing ingredients. I hardly ever make a shopping list or a menu upfront. Mostly because I need to see what’s fresh and good in the stores first before deciding what to go with. I could never understand how some folks can purchase produce and meat online. I can see the convenience of having food delivered to your doorstep, but if I am cooking I need to see, smell, feel each item before I place it my cart. I guess I picked up this habit when I was little and my grandma would bring me to the market with her. 

I can’t get enough of produce these days, especially since the berry and cherry season is starting up. TJ had a great selection this morning, so I  might have overbought a bit, but rest assured none will be wasted in our household (Another lesson passed on to me from my family, which has its downsides.)

Photo_147B250E-A578-9738-008C-8FFDA232452E_thumb[3]

The fifteen year old in me could not resist taking a picture of this giant perfectly shaped organic cucumber Winking smile

WP_000046_thumb[4]

I knew all the hours I spent playing Tetris would come in handy at some point:

WP_000047_thumb

With all the groceries put away, it’s time for lunch. I made a giant salad with romaine lettuce, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, sweet white onion, celery, avocado, white tuna (packed in water with no added salt from TJ’s which instantly became must-get-again-item), a bit of light cheese, tossed with Honey Dijon dressing. The entire mountain of food added up to ~340cal!

salad

After a very regretful Cold Stone experience on Friday, Eric and I went for a do-over at Red Mango. The small serving of original flavor only has 112 calories and 0% fat, and it’s yogurt which is good for you. (No, I have not been asked to endorse any of the red mango products, but I totally should be)

Photo_D9BEE2CB-8C49-C767-5022-82788D8D9FF6

Another no-cooking night for me as Eric’s fired up the grill. On the menu: extra lean beef burgers on multigrain bun and Asian Broccoli slaw (Organic TJ’s Broccoli Slaw, 1/4c peanuts, 1 orange, 1/2c sugar snap peas cut up, tossed with Asian Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette)

WP_000057

WP_000058

WP_000059

Sweet and juicy watermelon is a perfect ending to this summer weekend. I don’t tend to buy watermelons often as they are hit or miss, and they are hard to cut, but thanks to the tips from Monica, I’ll be getting more watermelons this summer.

WP_000062

 

What’s your favorite fruit to snack on during the summer?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

