Skip to content

Filet-o-Fish Northwest Style

June 9, 2011

Today was things-are-not-going-my-way-must-have-carbs-to-compensate day. I am sure some of you know exactly what I am talking about. It’s a good thing I planned to leave early for my Happy Hour Circuit Training class otherwise my waist line would have been in trouble. I am a stress (/happy / relaxing / bored / procrastinating / oh that looks so good / I’ll keep you company / etc.) eater, but I am working on it. One of the reasons I’ve been switching around my workout routine is to break patterns of pigging out after a long day at the office. Luckily, I caught myself on the verge of turning into a Pac-Man, so I only had time to swallow a bag of popchips and an apple before I had to head to the gym. In addition to the circuit training where we did weights and cardio stations, I ran 3.5 miles (2 miles at a constant speed and 1.5 miles interval work). Working out is another one of my tricks to help fight cravings and let frustrations out, but it can’t just be a light walk. I need to kick/punch/push/lift and really get my heart pumping to take my mind off it.

For dinner, it’s leftover salmon patties and I threw together some salad as a side. I am continuing with the Asian inspired theme this week (since those are the ingredients I have on hand) so to the organic spring greens, I added baby carrots, cucumber, sweet white onion and some orange slices, all tossed with 2tbs of spicy Thai peanut dressing. 

WP_000075[1]

I reheated the salmon patties. Dijon mustard and sweet relish were a great choice to bring out the salmon flavor.

WP_000080[1]

Now we are talking! The patty is much better as a burger than on its own. Sometimes you just have to follow the recommended usage and not invent your own, but sometimes when you take risks great recipes happen, so I often try to improvise. 

What’s your favorite burger?

For dessert I was not too creative and since I had unplanned carb attack in the afternoon, I went with Greek Yogurt Parfait same as the night before.

Blog ya later!

Note to self: Start using a real camera instead of my phone and take food photography classes!

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

