Skip to content

RAC to Redhook

June 13, 2011

There is no denying that the best races are the ones that end with a lunch buffet and cold beer, and that’s exactly what I did this morning. A few weeks back I signed up for RAC to Redhook fitness challenge (technically it’s not a race, which what makes it even more fun). There is an athletic club in downtown Redmond, the RAC, which I am not a member of, but every summer they organize a series of challenge events to benefit Hopelink organization. I was ecstatic to participate in an outdoor workout for a good cause! It’s a scenic, mostly flat run on the nearby Sammamish trail and I even got to super-size my run for free (the only acceptable thing to super-size)! A group of runners, including me, met two hours earlier and ran extra 7.5 miles before the actual challenge began at 10am.

image photo

The idea behind the challenge is that during the 4.5 mile run you stop every mile to do a 5 minute mini boot-camp series like squats, pushups, lunges, mountain climbers, and today I learned of a new exercise called a man-maker (burpee with a row and a lunge.)

image

The $35 fee gets you a t-shirt and lunch at the Redhook brewery (including pitchers of beer!). The fee for consecutive two runs goes down to $20 so you are not forced into paying for multiple shirts again and again. And ladies, get this, they actually had fitted girl shirts, so this will be my first race shirt I will actually keep.

After the two and a half hour workout during which I covered 12 miles, the beer never tasted so good! I went with Caesar salad, carrots and celery sticks and two chicken wings for lunch. (Darn, forgot to take a photo that’s how excited/hungry I was.)

To top off this fabulous morning, I ended up wining a $25 gift certificate at FootZone (local running store).

IMG_4473

The day could not get any better! Oh, wait Eric is grilling tonight, so yeah, it can Smile Turkey burgers on multi-grain buns with grilled organic veggies and grapes for dessert.

IMG_4479

image

image

Time to get my nutrition back on track; the weekend is over.

How was your weekend?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 2:58 am

    The RAC to Redhook sounds fun, I am so impressed by your commitment to running, I am finding it harder to get the runs in now that Jack’s school is coming to a close.

Trackbacks

  1. Captain America «
  2. RAC to Redhook Take 2 «
  3. Blogging to success «
  4. Running in the rain «
  5. Last Summer Race «

Leave a Reply

