Skip to content

Couple that runs together…

June 19, 2011

Happy Father’s Day to all the great dads out there! To commemorate this occasion Eric and I ran 20K as he proudly calls it. He ran/walked 5K and I covered the other 15K. The race did not start until 10, which allowed us to sleep-in for a change. I started the usual pre-race ritual like I do every morning with a giant cup of coffee to get me pumped.

WP_000116

Then I putzed around the house for awhile doing miscellaneous chores, like making the bed, feeding the cat, and let the caffeine spread though my system. I packed just-in-case items to take with us: band-aids, Kleenex, Chapstick, water and more water (although they usually have plenty of that at the track), camera, zunes/ipods fully charged with headphones, sunglasses (because I look cooler even when it’s grey out and they help keep dust, pollen, and bugs out my eyes.) 

WP_000118

(Sorry about the picture quality. I was charging my camera at the time, so had to take this with my phone.)

Next step – Feet taping! I used some physical therapy tape that I got during a podiatry consultation for my blisters. The doctor’s recommendation was I tape my feet  before long runs (and he went to medical school for this?)

image

I debated for a bit on my outfit, now since I have two pairs of running shoes to choose from. It’s a good thing I settled on my trusted and true 1060s, as the course was pretty muddy from all the rain we’ve been getting this weekend. I would have been sad to dirty up my sparkling new 890s, which I test-ran on Thursday and they performed exceptionally well, but I need to run in them some more to draw the final verdict. Generally, you don’t want to try anything new on race day. That did not stop me from switching up my breakfast (which is a big no-no in the runner’s handbook), but I think it worked to my advantage as I had good energy all the way through the run and even after I was not starving like usual.

WP_000121

My pre-race meal consisted of 1 tbsp of sunflower seed butter on toast with berries and Vitamin Zero Water for some extra electrolytes. The sunflower seed butter is less sweet than regular PB, but it has creamier consistency so it spreads easier.

Rain or shine, I put on sunblock.

image

 

Don’t forget the lucky hat (which I washed right after we got home. That was long overdue!)

IMG_4557

Can’t you tell how thrilled Eric is about his 5K? His mood significantly improved upon completion.

image

The challenging part about mixed races (5K, 10K, 15K, relays) is that it’s hard to pace yourself in the beginning if you are going for the longest distance as everyone starts out really fast, especially the 5K group. The course had a small hill in the beginning, which was not a big deal at first, but on my third loop I was close to walking it (but I didn’t!). Then we weaved around soccer fields with all the bored parents watching and cheering us on.

I completed the first 5K loop in 24:20 (which is about the same as my PR at Race for Grace). I am not a big fan of 5K races. As I mentioned before, the first two miles is a warm up for my body, so it’s hard for me to start at 8 mile/min right of the bat. My 2nd loop was much better. The 5K group was gone, and the remaining runners were nicely spaced out—someone a couple of meters ahead and behind to keep you motivated. The 3rd lap was my favorite as I don’t remember much of it. I completely spaced-out, letting the legs do the work. Now I understand why there are so many running blogs. You need something to pre-occupy you while you run, so you think of content to put on your blog, like in my case a new slogan:

Some days I’ll eat healthy,

Some days I might not,

But one thing for sure,

I’ll be running a lot.

I found some juice to lap a weary 10K runner in the last 0.25 mile and crossed the finish line at 1:14:29 (approximately 25 minutes per loop) where my beaming-with-pride husband was awaiting me to snap some photos (To see all photos we took, go here.)

image       image

image

I felt good during the run and with the result, but I would not run this particular race again. It was cheap, so there were no sponsors and no expo, which means no goodie bags or free snacks. I was also hoping the course would be closer to the water like the Seward park, which it was not. It was not clearly marked and the mile signage was very confusing. There were other frustrating moments, like some smart ass cricket player blocked the passage during my 2nd loop to offload his equipment and I had to yell at him to get him to move his car.

After the run, we headed for a second breakfast at Noah’s. Luckily my boob sweat has dried out by then and we were able to find a secluded table so our successful run aroma was not bothering others. I had their bagel thin egg white sandwich with asparagus, mushrooms and Swiss cheese (only 280 cals).

image

After the long hot shower and a hate-love session with the foam roller, I was hungry again. Good thing I prepared another giant bowl of salad last night.

image

I can’t wait until our celebratory dinner at Pizzeria Guido’s tonight. I’ve been dreaming about their vegetarian lasagna and tiramisu since yesterday. I won’t tempt you with pictures of our evening meal as not all have an excess of 1000 calories to spare. Smile Until tomorrow my friends!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:14 am

    http://www.amazon.com/Dr-Scholls-Moleskin-Padding-Packages/dp/B001EPQG1M

    I think moleskin is another suggestion for preventing blisters. Was the tape uncomfortable? Did it feel like you were ripping the hair off your feet every time you took a step?

    So once you got the blisters, what did he suggest for treating them?

    • June 26, 2011 2:29 pm

      I don’t really have hair on my feet (might be the girl thing or that I already ripped them all out from earlier tapings). 🙂 It was pretty comfy. I heard off moleskin so I might try it in the future.

  2. Mark permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:15 am

    Note: I didn’t add the fancy picture above. Just pasting in the amazon link did that magically.

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

