Skip to content

The Early Bird

June 19, 2011

The internal clock is strong in me, the young Jedi runner, as there was no alarm and the cat was peacefully napping upstairs when I got up at 6am this morning. By noon, I already completed a trip to two grocery stories and 90 minutes of hot yoga. I’ve been craving hot yoga since my weightlifting soreness peaked Thursday, so the class seemed to fly by today (or could it actually be that I am getting better after 3 classes?)

I picked up a few new items from Trader Joe’s based on some recommendations from friends (thanks Ashley for mentioning the Almond Vanilla unsweetened milk that only has 40 calories per serving) and stalking research from other runners’ sites. Everyone’s been raving about the sunflower seed butter so I can’t wait to try it tomorrow on my toast, and I think Almond butter will work well in smoothies. I just heard about Uncle Sam original cereal. It’s the cereal with the least amount of sugar per serving (less than 1g) and it has 10g of fiber. It’s all natural and has 4 ingredients: whole wheat kernels, whole flaxseed, salt and barley malt. It adds a nice crunch to my greek yogurt and berries. I have no idea what I am going to do with the tempeh I bought, but I am excited to experiment with vegan protein.

IMG_4538

With the fridge restocked, I felt reenergized and liberated.

IMG_4543

(Don’t worry I won’t be posting pictures of my fridge every week. This is just to replace the earlier fuzzy picture from two weeks ago that was mocking my OCD.)

Time for giant salad lunch, this time with grapes, celery, carrots and walnuts in addition to my usual lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers and avocado.

image

Dinner was roasted turkey cutlets, steamed green beans with a touch of Smart Balance and whole wheat couscous. I added cranberries and raisins to couscous for sweetness and texture. I have not made couscous in months, so I had to go back for seconds.

image

3 peanut brittle pieces (for 140 calories! Take that Peanut Butter cups! Smile with tongue out) and strawberries to satisfy my sweet tooth.

image

Time to close the kitchen and snuggle with hubby for a movie night. Today was a clean eating day, which is exactly what I need before the 15K Father’s day run. Check back tomorrow to hear about the race (fingers crossed the weather will be nice). Hope you are enjoying the weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    June 19, 2011 4:01 am

    In case you haven’t tried that almond butter before, I found that it looks/tastes pretty disgusting on its own, but it’s much better on bread.

    Good luck with the run tomorrow. For those of you that only speak American, Bing tells me that 15km = 9.3205679 miles.

Leave a Reply

