Skip to content

Yin and Yang

June 21, 2011

image

I have not appreciated yoga enough until now. (I hope yoga Gods will forgive the ignorance of a stiff mortal). Yoga and running are like peas and carrots, maple syrup on Sunday brunch pancakes, cherry on a sundae, jelly on your PB sandwich (I think way too much about food.)

After a long run yesterday and a heavy celebratory meal, I was determined to start my week right by attending a yoga session. I woke up at an ungodly hour. The birds weren’t even chippering outside yet, and while sipping on coffee I drove to the yoga studio. Unfortunately, the only way I can squeeze in yoga on a weekday is before work and since the class is 90 minutes, my only option is the 6am slot. The class was less crowded than on Saturday so the instructor had time to correct my form and help improve my posture. I felt last night’s wine oozing out of my pores, making room for fresh oxygen to enter the bloodstream. I felt rejuvenated and detoxified. What a great way to start the morning!

I rushed back home to get ready for work. To keep the purification momentum going, I made a green smoothie for breakfast.

IMG_4615

1c frozen spinach, 2/3c strawberries, 1c almond milk, 1c water, 1 scoop vegetable protein powder, and 1tbs flaxseed. You have to play with the proportions as every blender is different. I usually blend until my blender gets stuck, add a bit of water, stir up with a spoon, and continue to blend. Repeat the last step if necessary.

Monday marks the completion of my 3rd week training program. Time to reflect how last week went.

Exercise:

Day

Goal

Actual

Mon

Rest

Took a well-deserved rest after the 2.5h RAC to Redhook Super Challenge

Tue

Cross training

Extra hard workout with my trainer + elliptical for half an hour.

Wed

Circuit + run 3M

Made it to the Happy Hour circuit training class where I did longer intervals for 3 miles and finished off with steady 2 miles, adding to 5 miles for the day.

Thu

4M easy run

Covered 4.5 miles.

Fri

Circuit + run 3M

Ran 5 miles in the morning, but bailed on circuit training due to sunny weather

Sat

Bikram

Attended a Bikram class to prepare for the race

Sun

9M Run

Participated in Father’s Day 15K Run

Total Run

19 miles

~23.5 miles

Nutrition:

clip_image003

Slip-ups:

  1. ½ chocolate glazed chocolate cake donut on June 15 (Mitigation: Convince Shawn to bring 13lbs of apples for his next anniversary)
  2. Overconsumption of ice-cream and fig bars this week (Mitigation: Finished remaining fig bars yesterday and ordered Artic Zero as an ice-cream substitute)
  3. Unplanned Happy Hour outing on Friday (Mitigation: Plan for nice weather patio sessions but indulge in moderation)
  4. Sunday calorie surplus madness (Mitigation: Brush teeth right away when return home after a dinner date)

High points:

  1. Once again exceeded my mileage for the week
  2. Increased my healthy fat intake
  3. Closed the kitchen down by 8:30pm on 5 days which worked very well to prevent late night snacking

Let’s see what this week brings. Happy Monday everyone!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:24 am

    I LOL’d at you even having a mitigation plan. But treating your eating like a project is a great approach.

    Since you’re looking for accountability, I have some questions about your status report.

    1) Can I assume that the calories above are net calories, and not total calories? (Net = calorie intake – exercise) If they are net, what tools are you using to estimate the amount of calories burned in a workout?

    2) Whether they are net or total calories, it seems like your intake was far too low on several of the days. Have you talked to a nutritionist about what your safe ranges should be? Too few calories, and you can start burning muscle.

    Congrats to you on the huge decreases in weekly calorie intake, and on beating your planned running goals again!

    • June 26, 2011 2:32 pm

      Yes, those are net calories and you can track exercise in loseit.com just as you do food. They’ve got various activities and estimate the calorie burn based on your weight, age, etc. I also have a heart rate monitor and after wearing bodybugg I usually have a pretty good sense of how many calories I burn with a particular exercise.

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

