Skip to content

Lazy eggs

June 23, 2011

It’s boys night, so it’s just me for dinner at the house. I am too lazy to make anything fancy, so behold the incredible, edible eggs! I decided to fancy up the regular egg omelet so I found this recipe. Of course, neither I nor my stomach have the patience for the required hour of baking, so I changed up  the recipe to make it stovetop appropriate.

1. Prep the veggies (red peppers, onions, mushrooms). If you are anything like me, you’ll eat half the veggies while chopping them up, so plan on cutting up twice as many veggies.

IMG_4645

2. I used 2 eggs plus 2 egg whites and a bit of paprika

IMG_4646

3. Whisk the eggs until they are bubbly

IMG_4647

4. Add 1/2c cottage cheese (Finally I found a purpose for the cottage cheese that’s been hiding in the back of the fridge, and ya’ll know how I hate throwing food out)

IMG_4648

5. Sauté veggies with a bit of olive oil (I actually used the non-stick Olive Oil spray from Trader Joe’s)

IMG_4651

6. Add the egg/cheese mixture

IMG_4652

7. Sprinkle with oregano, parsley, a touch of cayenne pepper (I like my eggs spicy), and parmesan cheese

IMG_4653

8. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook for about 15 minutes

IMG_4654

I can’t get enough veggies so I added tomato and a small cucumber as a side.

IMG_4655

The cheesy egg dish turned out so good that I could not wait for it to cool and burnt my tongue a bit. I am thinking Eric will enjoy it as well, but I will make some modifications for next time:

  • use 4 eggs and 2 egg whites (since this is a recipe for two people)
  • 1c of cottage cheese
  • 1/4c of flour
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder so the eggs rise even more
  • bake it in the oven  at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes

For an easy dinner I surely dirtied up a lot of dishes, and my dish-washer is out for the night enjoying nachos with beer. Sigh. I guess next time I should just go with one of Kashi’s frozen entrees.  

IMG_4657

Today was a hungry day. I get these right when my nutrition is back on track, I wake up starving and I am hungry either physically or emotionally all day. Those tend to be very dangerous times as I end up bingeing. Around 2:00pm I already finished my greek yogurt and was planning the next thing to snack on. I walked over to the cafeteria in hopes of getting a NuGo bar (not too bad of a choice with only 180 calories and 10 grams of protein). It just so happens that our cafeteria stopped carrying the NuGo bar and instead there was a wide selection of Odwalla bars. I circled the stand a few times, debating which flavor to go with as I’ve never tried them before. Finally I walked away empty-handed. I went back to my desk to scavenge for some change for Popchips in the vending machine. I was 0.50 cents short. At this point, I was ready to go home for a snack (this is how desperate I get on hungry days), then it occurred to me that I have Uncle Sam cereal that I could probably use as a cereal with actual milk instead of my usual yogurt mix-in. Must have been the crunchy texture, sweetness of milk and high fiber and high protein content that hit the spot! I was so relieved to prevent a binge attack and even made it to the gym for my happy hour circuit training workout and a 4 mile run.

How do you avoid a binge?

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

