Skip to content

Summer Slaw

June 28, 2011

One of my favorite products at Trader Joe’s is their Organic Broccoli slaw as it is so versatile. I can use it as the base for a salad, and it’s great in stir fries. Inspired by the warmer weather and feeling of the summer vibe, I made an Apple Coleslaw salad.

Start off with getting the slaw out of the bag into a large bowl (being extra detailed for all the newbie cooks out there Smile).

IMG_4707

Add more shredded carrots.

Slice up a medium-size apple and cut into small pieces. (Snacking on an apple slice is required to keep the cook’s hunger at bay.)

image

Top off with a handful of raisins, cranberries and walnuts.

image

Mix in the dressing of your choice and sprinkle with ½ tsp of cinnamon. I used Honey Dijon as it adds a tangy sweetness.

IMG_4714

Enjoy with your favorite summer ale!

image

Or as an actual side.

Photo_C5E6576F-124F-4BB5-2BDA-3A107585A9C7

It’s another Monday, and another training week complete.

Exercise:

Day

Goal

Actual

Mon

Rest

After a celebratory Father’s Day run/dinner combo on Sunday, I started the week on a good foot with an early Bikram yoga class.

Tue

Cross training

Boot camp style workout with my trainer outside + elliptical for half an hour.

Wed

Circuit + run 3M

Happy Hour circuit training class plus ran 4 miles.

Thu

4M easy run

Ran 5 miles.

Fri

Circuit + run 3M

Took a break from running and substituted Bikram Yoga class.

Sat

Bikram

Plus I biked to the Yoga Studio and back.

Sun

10M Run

12 Mile run.

Total Run

20 miles

21 miles

After reflecting on my eating habits and exercise pattern, I am making some new commitments for the upcoming week:

1. Drink more water. My yoga instructor recommends consuming at least 75% of your body weight in ounces, so for me that would be roughly 96 ounces or 3 liters of water per day. I know I get at least 2 liters a day, but with all the hot yoga and the warmer weather I should aim to double my intake to 4.

2. Run less, Bike and Yoga more. I need to start tapering down my running so I can feel refreshed and strong for my half marathon on July 17th. This is hard for me, as I am addicted to running so I will attempt to substitute biking and yoga to satisfy my cardio cravings. 

3. Eat more but in moderation. I need to up my calorie and carbs intake to prep for the half marathon. I am also thinking I have not been consuming enough food on my “good” days which drives me to overeating later on. I will still eat wholesome foods but eat more until I am truly satisfied.

4. No tracking. I will wait for my readers’ gasps to die down Smile  I am trying something new here. I’ve been a dedicated tracker for years (weight watchers, bodybugg, loseit, calorieking, etc.) I think all the “dieting” and tracking has been messing with my healthy eating and leads to bingeing. Instead I am taking a break from calorie tracking and listening to my body’s satiety levels as indication of what to eat, when and how much.

Do you have any resolutions for this week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    June 28, 2011 5:08 am

    Why no details on the delicious brat-looking thing next to the slaw in the pic above?!?!?!

    4L of water a day? You’ll spend your whole summer in the bathroom.

    What is it about the logging that made you think think it was causing you problems? Were you updating it in real time, or only at the end of the day? I’ve been logging for months and think it’s been a help for me. Hard to know when it turns into a crutch, just curious.

    I resolve not to yell at stupid people this week.

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

