Skip to content

¡Hola Canada Day!

July 2, 2011

Even at 5 in the morning (my husband calls me a crazy person for waking up that early) I knew today would be a great day. I could already see the glimpse of pink and red rays on the horizon as the sun was coming up.

My yoga class was extra busy as everyone is trying to squeeze in one more session before starting their holiday weekend, but I was able to get a spot right next to a window so the experience was even more sensual as I practiced my breathing, postures and meditation in the rising sun.

When I got back, I made a perfect green smoothie with celery, mango, almond milk, and vanilla protein.

IMG_4762

That did not fill me up for long, and a couple of hours later I snacked on Chobani Strawberry yogurt with Uncle Sam’s cereal.

WP_000134

For lunch, I gave the left-over salmon a face-lift thanks to the Sesame Ginger Vinaigrette and Organic greens from Trader Joe’s. Apple slices made for a crunchy dessert.

WP_000136WP_000138

My mid-afternoon snack was brown rice cake with peanut butter. Thanks to my Bikram strong hands, I was able to squeeze out every last drop from the little 80 calorie packet.

No better way to kick off a long weekend like having beer and snacks on a new deck in great company.

IMG_4764

These lentil chips are so good, they even caught Domino’s eye.

IMG_4777

IMG_4771

IMG_4773

Since my earlier realization this week that I need to consume more protein at dinner, I decided to turn the leftover veggies into a frittata. Never made frittata before but from what I understand, all you need to add is eggs and cheese.

IMG_4783

Step 1: Throw the leftovers into a skillet and pour eggs over them.

IMG_4784

This is going to be my own creation with Mediterranean twist, hence the raisins.

Step 2: Top with cheese.

IMG_4785

Step 3: Bake it in the oven until golden and bubbly.

IMG_4786

The result got Eric’s stamp of approval (unlike yesterday’s veggie-bean dish), so here is an improvisation done right.

IMG_4792

To celebrate Canada day, I made a red/white dessert of strawberries and whipped cream on vita-muffin. I bet you can guess the extra ingredient I’ll be adding on Monday.

IMG_4796

Eric and I are heading for another road trip to Oregon coast tomorrow, so I won’t be posting for a couple of days, but I promise to tell you all about our adventure as soon as we are back Smile

Have a happy and safe holiday weekend!

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging to success «

Leave a Reply

