Skip to content

Hit the road Jane!

July 5, 2011

This weekend Eric and I took a road trip south to Gleneden Beach on the Oregon coast. I woke up early to squeeze in a 7 mile run before we left.

IMG_4805

No road trip can begin without car snacks.

IMG_4803

We had a long drive ahead of us, so I packed us some turkey wraps for lunch:

IMG_4799IMG_4800

Once we reached Portland, we took a little detour to visit the winery where Eric’s favorite Oregon Pinot Noir comes from– Cooper Mountain.

IMG_4810

IMG_4811

It was tucked away somewhere in Beaverton, OR and turned out to be a bit of a let down. The tasting room was smaller than our bathroom and the lady serving us had no particular passion for wine or interest to sell any of it to us. Still we both decided this was a valuable experience as this re-confirmed our excitement for our Sonoma/Napa Valley trip coming up in March.

Our main destination was Salishan Lodge. This was the best Oregon resort we stayed at to date and I wished we had a couple of extra days to spare. Here are my favorite moments:

1. Ocean, sun and over 80 degree weather. For me, the real sense of vacation begins when I am next to an ocean. The air has a salty smell to it; you can hear the sea gulls and the waves; and the cool breeze is so refreshing on your skin.

IMG_4866

2. Two free bottles of Oregon Pinot and 4 engraved glasses awaited in the room upon our arrival.

IMG_4823

Don’t have to ask me twice Smile

IMG_4877

3. Fresh Pacific Seafood. I had it during each meal and still could not get enough.

Dinner on Saturday night: Grilled scallops wrapped in prawns with basmati rice and roasted veggies

IMG_4832

Eric chose the Halibut fish and chips and there was plenty for me to steal.

IMG_4834

Breakfast the following morning: egg white omelet with bay shrimp, smoked salmon and scallions

IMG_4918

Lunch: Grilled Halibut sandwich

IMG_4867

Eric and I split linguine from heaven with calamari, scallops, and clams for dinner.

IMG_4892

4. Apparently I’ve new found love for Oregon’s Rieslings, and Eric and I stocked up at a nearby Safeway on the way home.

IMG_4904

5. Beating Eric at pool twice while listening to live band performing Comfortably Numb (the best song ever!). Luckily my hubby is no sore loser (unlike me). Mojitos might have helped.

IMG_4853

IMG_4852

6. Almost winning at miniature golf (I might be a touch competitive after all.) Eric won by 1 point.

IMG_4871

7. Cheap and delicious California cherries.

IMG_4917

8. Intuitive eating habits starting to kick in. First time ever Eric got to eat more than half of the crème brûlée.

IMG_4837

9. Handsome guy I got to spend time with

IMG_4831

IMG_4911

10. Hanging out on the ocean view balcony in our room

IMG_4874

IMG_4875

11. Scenic 6 mile trail run

photo

Thank you Oregon coast for a fabulous mini-vacation. We’ll be back next summer for a longer visit!

Leave a Reply

