Skip to content

Icing. Icing. Baby.

July 12, 2011

What a busy weekend! Eric and I hosted a baby shower for our friends on Sunday who are expecting a baby boy in late August. Most of Saturday was spent cleaning, unpacking patio furniture, trips to Home Depot for replacement grill parts, laundry, and grocery shopping. I did squeeze in hot yoga sessions on both Saturday and Sunday mornings. To optimize on time and maximize my workouts, I ran to the yoga studio, 4.5 miles round trip.

Toast with sun butter and strawberries is my favorite pre-run breakfast these days. (I am starting to use the macro feature on my camera, so the pictures have been turning out much nicer.)

IMG_5016

I wore my bodybugg on the weekend, as I was curious to see how many calories I’ve been burning lately. If you are not familiar with bodybugg, it’s a little armband widget that uses various sensors (like body temperature, moisture levels, etc.)  to track calories burned. The setback is that it does not work for hot yoga, with the room being hot and me sweating profusely, it got very confused and started beeping until I took it off. Nevertheless, I got some pretty good numbers this weekend with the runs and moving around a lot (add 400 calories to the totals for hot yoga)

image

image

Now I have an excuse for all the snacking I do Winking smile  like a post-workout meal of turkey wrap with hummus and a side salad:

IMG_5021

The baby shower was a jungle themed BBQ.

IMG_5028

IMG_5031

While Rachel was decorating, I made a couple of summer salads and veggie hummus plate.

IMG_5035

For Broccoli slaw, I  basically followed the recipe on the back of the package: broccoli slaw, extra shredded carrots, diced apple, 1/4c raisins, 1/4c cranberries, 1/4 walnuts mixed with Honey Dijon Yogurt dressing and a bit of cinnamon for extra flavor.

IMG_5026

 

Then I made Russian Egg salad from my childhood memory.

IMG_5027

Chop up 1 large English cucumber (not your typical Russian salad as they don’t get those gigantic cucumbers back there), a bunch of radishes, 1/2 a bunch of green onion, 4 hard boiled eggs. I used the same Honey Dijon Yogurt dressing but seasoned with sea salt and black pepper, which gave it a very different flavor.

There was random fruit consumption while prepping all the ingredients.

IMG_5025

Eric had the hard job of making the actual food for everyone

IMG_5034

while posing for pictures and entertaining the crowd with quotes from the latest season of 30 Rock we’ve been watching.

IMG_5042

It’s not a baby shower unless there is at least one baby present. Luckily, Oliver was able to make it to our party giving a preview of what to come for the parents-to-be.

IMG_5040

Grandparents were beaming with excitement.

IMG_5041

After the turkey and beef burgers were finished, it was time for presents and dessert. Clair brought custom-made cookies and cupcakes from a local bakery.

IMG_5032

I also had a juicy watermelon on hand.

IMG_5067

All these cute presents almost make me wish we were having a baby. Almost being the key word here. All in due time, my friends… After seeing my first snot sucker, the temptation died down a bit. Smile

IMG_5033

After the guests went home, all three hosts (Domino, Eric and I) plopped on the couch to catch our breath from all the sun, heat, and entertaining. It was a big and successful event, especially for Domino who got to enjoy lots of time outside, chasing bugs and birds, being rescued from under the deck and dragged out of the neighbor’s bushes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 2:48 pm

    Those salads look awesome! Was the Dijon dressing homemade?! If so do you have a recipe?

  2. July 12, 2011 3:54 pm

    I bought it a store, it’s Marie’s dressing: http://www.mariesdressings.com/products.aspx?catID=24 I got at a local QFC so I am sure it’s available at other stores as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Overnight Oats «
  2. Fitting it all in «
  3. Chicken Masala «
  4. My fitbit has been flipped «

Leave a Reply

