Skip to content

Cherry Anniversary

July 13, 2011

July 10th marked my 5 year anniversary at work. I think this is where people say how time flies and all that, but I feel pretty good about everything I’ve accomplished over the last five years at work. There are certain perks to hitting a “round” number.

I got presented with a “limited-edition” optical crystal obelisk at a team-wide meeting. Apparently it was designed by Weinberg Glass whose work is represented in over fifty major public art museums worldwide including the Metropolitan.

IMG_5055

The part that took me by surprise was the extra card that I found in the box that the obelisk came in that read “We recognize the support you have provided and the sacrifices you have made during your partner’s employment. We’d like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest thanks.”

It occurred to me this is a “wife” card. Now compare that to the actual card for the employee “Congratulations on five years of service. We truly appreciate all your efforts and look forward to your continued success in the future.” What about the sacrifices that I have made? All the extra time spent at work instead of running, blogging, shopping? Not impressed.

IMG_5062

I am most excited being only one year away from an extra week of vacation; Eric’s been banking in 4 weeks a year and carrying over unused time for awhile now. So starting next July, I’ll have more time to spend on my addictions.

There is a tradition at work to bring in treats, usually candy– 1 year = 1lb, but folks have been substituting donuts, ice cream or baked goods. To help encourage healthy lifestyles (and save myself from eating M&Ms all day) I bought 5lbs of Rainier cherries, which was much appreciated as flocks of people gathered around my office expressing their passion for fresh cherries.

IMG_5052

The only container I have in my office is from treats I brought over Christmas, and I was so glad all the cherries fit into it.

I am still catching up from the weekend of not blogging and had to delay my usual Monday goal setting post until now. (I am sorry to leave you hanging all weekend, but since my amazon associate store has not been bringing in any commission and there are no ads on my site yet, unfortunately blogging has not yet become my full time occupation. Smile )

 

Last Week’s Exercise:

Day

Goal

Actual

Mon

Rest

I took a 6-mile scenic run on Oregon coast before heading back home from our Independence day mini-break.

Tue

Cross training

I did Bikram yoga at a new studio in Redmond.

Wed

Circuit + run 3M

Bikram morning and because it was one of the nicest summer days in Seattle, I skipped circuit training and tried going for a run after work. This is when I found out I don’t like running in the afternoon, especially when it’s hot. I barely covered 2 miles before giving up.

Thu

5M easy run

It was overcast so I made up for Wed, by running to the gym (7 miles round trip) + 55 min circuit session with my trainer.

Fri

Circuit + run 3M

Bikram

Sat

Bikram

I ran to yoga (4.5 miles) + 90 min class

Sun

7M Run

I ran to yoga (4.5 miles) + 90 min class

Total Run

18 miles

22 miles

I ran way more than I anticipated and definitely more than I was supposed to on the 2nd to last week before the big half marathon. The weather was so nice and I was feeling super energetic (even though I’ve shifted my wake up time to 5am. Must be another yoga benefit.)

The race is less than a week away. I am trying not to think about it yet. I don’t want to psych myself out. I am also starting my full marathon training this week at the gym, but I expect we’ll be taking it easy the first couple of sessions.

Exercise Plan for this week:

Day

Goal

Mon

Yoga

Tue

Marathon training 1st session

Wed

Yoga

Thu

Marathon training + elliptical for 30 min

Fri

Yoga + bike to work?

Sat

Yoga, easy 2 mile to loosen up, active stretches

Sun

Race Day!

Goals:

  • Clean eating is a must!
  • No alcohol until the celebratory dinner on Sunday night
  • Drink more water this week
  • Roll out with a foam roller and stretch major leg muscles every night
  • Listen to my body – Take a rest day if feeling tired
4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 6:17 am

    Has it been five years already!? Wow! Congrats! I still remember your interviews…

  2. July 13, 2011 3:37 pm

    Wow, congrats on 5 years!

    Also, where did you get your foam roller? I am thinking I need to get one!

  3. July 13, 2011 8:52 pm

    Amazon is my best friend 🙂 I always find the best prices there. This is the one I use: http://astore.amazon.com/janesaddictions-20/detail/B0028KDC82 You can see the marathon stick I got as well in my Amazon store. It’s great for calfs and hard to reach spots.

Trackbacks

  1. Chicken Masala «

Leave a Reply

