Skip to content

Fitting it all in

July 16, 2011

Happy Friday everyone! This week felt especially long (I think it’s because our last weekend was packed with Baby Shower hosting) and I’m glad for the work week to be done. Some folks have asked how I am able to squeeze in all my running, yoga, meal prepping, working, travel, blogging, etc. I wanted to share my tips for managing a busy schedule and finding time to do things you love.

Multitask

clip_image002

I am a queen of multitasking. I do stretches while blow drying my hair. I sip on a smoothie while doing make up (I have to put it down for eye makeup to avoid poking my eye out). I reply to emails while in meetings (that’s a common one I think). I chat on the phone with family and friends while folding laundry or offloading the dishwasher. I plan blog content in the shower. I shop online while cooking dinner (only if it requires baking in the oven) and recently I started combining exercise with transportation, like biking to work or running to the gym or yoga studio. I don’t think there is a single thing I do just by itself, besides sleeping, I guess. This lifestyle might seem hectic to some, but I’ve never been the kind to sit still and doing more things at once just comes naturally to me.

Prioritize

Prioritization is key to finding happiness and balance in my opinion. A few weeks ago, when we got back from the trip to Mt. Hood, I got pretty stressed with the house being a mess and so I sat down and wrote out my priorities. When I look at the big picture (and not the pile of dirty laundry sitting in the corner), here are the order of things as I see them:

image

Once I had the items listed out, I instantly calmed down as I realized I’d hit the top 5 on the trip and who cares if the house is a bit messy. It’s at the bottom of my priority list. I don’t always see things clearly and don’t always act in accordance with my list, so I sometimes get stressed out over little things, but having the priority list helps me keep my relationships strong and stick to a exercise regime and good nutrition habits.

Wake up early

clip_image006

It’s amazing how much you can get done before coming to the office if you wake up at 5am. I  usually get my workout done by 8am, when most folks are just rolling out of bed. I’ve always been a morning person as I mentioned in my earlier routines post, so moving up the wake up time to 5 was easier on me than my hubby.

Skip TV

clip_image008

I replaced TV with blogging. I get more enjoyment from my new hobby. I am building my creative writing skills (hey, I work hard on these posts as silly as they may seem) and I am socializing with folks (cyber-bonding still counts in my geek mind). After dinners Eric and I used to plop in front of our TV like two zombies watching mind-numbing Seinfeld reruns. There is nothing wrong with Seinfeld, only I’ve seen most of the episodes back in high school. Now we’ve downgraded our cable to a basic package (I wanted it all gone, but apparently it’s cheaper to keep 28 channels than none with our Internet subscription.Comcast’s evil scam, I am sure, to keep feeding us advertisements.) Now we have a couple of hours before bedtime to type, walk, play with the cat, or watch shows we like from Netflix or Hulu.

Support Group

It would be impossible for me to get everything I do done without my support group.

IMG_4996

My hubby, who I can never show enough appreciation, is willing to wake up at 5am in the morning so I can go to yoga. He makes the bed when I am running late for a meeting as he knows my OCD struggles. He is tremendous help with chores around the house. He is my advisory board for difficult work/life questions and my blog editing committee. He travels to every race no matter how early/cold/far and supports me in every crazy thing that I decide to do.

My kitten, who is spoiled rotten, is my weekend alarm clock and is a great stress reliever. Her unconditional love and snuggling melts away all the tension and puts a smile on my face not matter what.

[Jane asks] How do you stay on top of it all?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    July 16, 2011 4:31 am

    I try to accomplish small tasks throughout the week so I can enjoy my weekends with my family. That doesn’t always happen so I’ll send my husband with my daughter so I can get the dishes, laundry, cleaning, organizing & sorting toys done. I’ve found that involving Abby in helping with switching the laundry from the washer to the dryer or putting away groceries is a huge help. She loves to put grocery items in the cart or up on the belt at checkout time. She speeds things up. Eventhough sometimes she will throw the yogurts too hard.work is my quiet time. I’ll make grocery lists or honey do lists there to plan out my week.

  2. Mark permalink
    July 16, 2011 4:45 am

    That’s probably the first time Sticky Notes have been used for anything that’s actually important.

    I see that you worked on your vacation. Shouldn’t your priority list have a few more options when you’re getting away for a few days? You don’t want to burn out.

    Comcast’s evil scam won’t work if you don’t hook your TV up to the cable. They got me with a similar evil scam, except it involves phone service instead of TV. But as long as they give me a super fast & reliable internet connection, that’s fine with me.

    “and supports me in every crazy thing that I decide to do.” – That sounds like a full time job.

    How do I stay on top of it all? That’s easy. I’m big, so I can cover a lot of things at the same time.

  3. July 16, 2011 6:31 pm

    I need to work on getting up earlier. It is hard for me! Any tips or tricks?!

  4. July 17, 2011 1:55 am

    I am a morning person so that’s easier for me, but it’s not for everybody. I find going to bed and waking up around the same time each day helps the body get used to the early wake up time. Even on weekends I usually wake up before 7am. The internal clock kicks in. Yoga seems to give me lots more energy. I don’t use the snooze button which I read somewhere helps as well, and I limit cafeine to 1-2 coffees a day before 2pm.

Trackbacks

  1. Over the hill «

Leave a Reply

