Skip to content

Pasta Pre-run-era

July 17, 2011

My race is tomorrow! I am excited. This is my first half marathon, so I don’t have an established routine just yet, but here is what I am doing today to prepare:

1. Yoga and Oats: I started the day with a ninety minute yoga class to relax and get a good stretch. After I came home I had a large bowl of overnight oats (this is becoming my favorite post-yoga breakfast. Sorry GoLean cereal– if we are both still available when I turn forty, we’ll get together again.)

IMG_5070

By the way, that’s a 12 ounce container– that’s how much oats you get from my recipe.

2. Laundry: I washed my workout clothes so I can wear my most comfortable and favorite outfit tomorrow morning.

3. Clean Eating: I had one of my ginormous weekend salads with lots of veggies and a vegan burger for lunch.

IMG_5157

4. Chiapioca Pudding: Last night I mixed together 1/4c chia seeds, 1 1/2c almond vanilla milk, 2 packets of stevia. Overnight the mixture thickened into a gel/pudding like consistency. Top off with fresh blackberries and you’ve got an energy powerhouse.

IMG_5145IMG_5147

5.Roll out: I now have not one, but two rollers for deep tissue massaging. It helps reduce scar tissue and relieves any acid build up in the muscle that causes soreness. I love the post-effect, just not so much the during part.

IMG_5178

At least I had a partner to keep me inspired.

IMG_5166

6. Flowers: I bought some beautiful roses today, so no matter how I do, when I come home I’ll feel like a winner Smile

 IMG_5163

7. Gadgets: I charged the Zune and the Garmin Forerunner device.

8. Carb load: For dinner, I made pasta filled with veggies and soy protein.

IMG_5135

Sauté veggies with olive oil and garlic.

IMG_5137

Add Yves meatless ground and continue cooking on medium heat for a few minutes.

IMG_5138

Stir in the sauce and simmer at low for a few more minutes.

IMG_5139

Serve over cooked noodles.

IMG_5143

9. Early bedtime. The race starts at 8am and all runners are required to arrive at 6:30, so Eric and I better turn in early tonight and leave the partying to tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

