Skip to content

See Jane Run

July 17, 2011

It’s the race we’ve all been waiting for – the See Jane Run Half Marathon! I fueled up with my special pre-run breakfast of toast with sunflower seed butter, banana and Vitamin water (the berry flavor is my favorite so far).

IMG_5181

Eric and I arrived early to the race location (not much traffic at 6:00am on Sunday morning), so I had plenty of time to warm up with active stretches.

IMG_5204IMG_5202

Rachel pleasantly surprised me and showed up a few minutes before the start.

.IMG_5209

My fan club in their matching cheering outfits (the color coordination was completely accidental, but it made it easier for me to spot them in the crowd. Good idea going forward.)

IMG_5234

Hundreds of people gathered at Gas Works park to watch me run Smile and so I did, and I ran a lot – 13.1 miles to be exact. (To see all pictures, click here.)

IMG_5218

The course was mostly flat (by Seattle standards), which means there were only a few small hills midway.

image

image

(I retrieved the above graphs in the Garmin Forerunner Training center, but I could not figure out how to view the table format. Anyone has any suggestions?)

I started off pretty strong and was able to keep up the pace for most of the distance. I slowed down a bit after mile 4 (not surprising as that’s where the hills came in). At mile 7-8 I got into a zone and at mile 9 I saw Eric and Rachel which was a great boost.

IMG_5224IMG_5222

(The pictures turned out a bit blurry as I was too fast for the camera Eric had to run backwards to keep up with me Smile)

The hardest part was mile 10-12. I was getting pretty tired at that point, but the second wind kicked in and I smoked mile 13 (especially the last 0.1 miles sprinting to the finish line at under 5 min/mile).

IMG_5229

That poor gal actually thought she could beat me! The crowd went wild with cheers as I passed her. They sure enjoy dramatic finish.

I completed the race in 1:49:05, with average pace ~ 8:20 min/mile, which placed me 95th overall and 15th in my age group.

IMG_5231IMG_5233

It felt great to be done! Especially when there are champagne and chocolate waiting at the finish line

IMG_5257

and a great expo with tons of giveaways.

IMG_5271

It was not all champagne and chocolate and there were downsides as well:

  • Bathroom lines were crazy long and they were not enough porta-pottys for all the ladies.

IMG_5205

  • The course was less scenic that I anticipated, with lots of back alleys. Even though it was around Lake Washington, there were very few views of the lake or downtown Seattle. Seward Park still remains my favorite spot.

image

  • They used a timing chip on an ankle strap, which ripped up my ankle and hurt pretty bad during and after the race. Apparently 20 other people had the same issue according to the first aid guys, so I hope they switch to shoe chips next time.

When I got home, Eric and I shared a large egg omelet with lots of veggies and cheese.

IMG_5265

I topped mine off with salsa and added avocado and tomato on the side.

IMG_5269

Tonight my proud hubby is taking me out for a celebratory dinner at a restaurant of my choice. After a run like this, I think I deserve some wine and a juicy steak, so we are going to check out John Howie’s steakhouse.

[Jane Asks] How do you celebrate special occasions/achievements?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 2:06 am

    YAY!! Congrats girl! What an accomplishment and what an awesome time! You should be so proud! I hope your steak and wine were delish!

    PS: Thanks for the computer help, I am back up and running!

  2. July 19, 2011 2:47 am

    I am happy with the time. I started out strong and was able to keep the pace for majority of the course. It was a good race!

    So glad your computer is working again 🙂 Happy to help.

Trackbacks

  1. Chicken Masala «
  2. There is a Bondi in my Band! «
  3. Best Sunny Saturday Moments «
  4. Blogging to success «
  5. Running in the rain «
  6. Seven Links «
  7. Seven Links «
  8. Flapjacks and not-so-fun 16 miles «
  9. Blissful 14 Miles «
  10. My First 26.2 Miles «
  11. Winter Running «
  12. 7 pound itch «

Leave a Reply

