Skip to content

Chicken Masala

July 19, 2011

Yesterday felt like a dream (I think the dirty martini and ½ bottle of wine at dinner had something to do with that), but my sore muscles were the achy proof of my achievement.

Going to yoga was the best thing I could have done for my stiff body and still a bit tipsy mind this morning. I felt 10 times better after 90 minutes of stretching, a hot shower, and a big bowl of overnight oats.

I am growing my running experience and not ready to set up a dedicated display (just yet) so for now I hung my medal on the cork board at work right above the Grace for Race trophy to show off to my co-workers as a humble reminder of my accomplishments.

awards

I was so tempted to wear the medal to work today, but changed my mind at the last minute as I figured it might be just a touch too much.

clip_image002[4]

Last week was a great week across the board.

· Even though I did not post every meal, my diet was great. I stuck to intuitive eating rules and wholesome food choices (with lots of overnight oats, salads, leftover turkey burgers, broccoli slaw stir-fry, veggie pasta, and no alcohol)

· Sunday night was a well-deserved exception 😉

IMG_5277

· I kept the exercise light (4 yoga sessions this week, 2 marathon classes, 30 minutes elliptical and only 3 mile run) in preparation for the race

You’d think this week, it’d be time for a break, but I am less than half way through my training program and there is no time to waste. The Portland Marathon is on October 9th, which means I have less than 3 months to get longer runs under my shoe. Here is my schedule for the upcoming week:

Mon

Bikram Yoga

Tue

Marathon Form class + 3 miles

Wed

Bikram Yoga

Thu

Marathon Form class + 6 miles

Fri

Bikram Yoga

Sat

Bikram and run to studio and back (4-5 miles)

Sun

RAC to Redhook (9 Miles). I had such a great time in June, I signed up for another one in July and will probably do the last one in Aug.

For dinner, I am trying something new. My hubby gave me an Ok to experiment with curry sauces so I rushed to Trader Joe’s to pick up some simmering sauce.

IMG_5286 

Place cut up chicken, green beans and rinsed garbanzo beans into a pan.

IMG_5289

Top off with sauce and a cup of water

IMG_5290

Simmer at medium heat for 10-15 minutes until chicken is cooked through

IMG_5292

Serve over brown rice.

IMG_5294

I cooked brown rice on the stove top in parallel (It’s a miracle I am not using Trader Joe’s precooked brown rice!)

Eric said this was the best Indian dish he’s ever had. The only thing missing was Naan bread.

Happy Monday to you all!

Leave a Reply

