Skip to content

Best Sunny Saturday Moments

July 24, 2011

1. 5 mile run to travel to the yoga class. Running is my favorite means of transportation when it’s nice out. I don’t even mind the bouncing backpack with the yoga mat, towel and a full water bottle. It slows me down, but it also makes the run more challenging by adding extra weight.

IMG_5450

2. Doubling breakfast and lunch. After a two hour workout, this girl can eat! I did keep each meal at under 300 calories so I guess that explains why each only filled me up for 2-3 hours.

Breakfast #1 at 7am: toast with sunflower seed butter and strawberries, before heading for the run & yoga

IMG_5016

Breakfast #2 at 10:30am: Fage plain yogurt, strawberries, 1/2 banana and chia seeds

IMG_5395

Lunch #1 at 12:30pm: mixed veggie salad with Boca burger, avocado and rice chips

IMG_5404

Lunch #2 at 2:30pm: toast with 2 turkey slices, lettuce sprinkled with balsamic vinaigrette, baby carrots and hummus

IMG_5418

3. Pretty toe nails. I’ve been wearing closed toe shoes all week, and after the half marathon my toe nails were looking pretty beat up. I could not procrastinate any longer and gave myself a quick Pedi this afternoon.

IMG_5408

4. Iced coffee. I made extra coffee this morning, chilled it in the fridge for a couple of hours, added ice and vanilla almond milk and Stevia. Voila! Cheaper and healthier alternative to any coffee shop, and tastes so good.

IMG_5433 IMG_5435

5. Stocking up on fruits and veggies.

IMG_5412

I know some people are able to keep their grocery bill under $100 each week. Eric and I don’t fall in that category. When I was super broke in college, I was able to live off $80 a month for groceries, but  I made a promise to myself (just like Scarlett O’Hara “As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again!”) that when I graduated and got a real job, I will go to the grocery store and buy whatever I want every week. I still flip through the flyers, stock up on weekly specials and sometimes use coupons, but I never run out of food and always pick the best items. I always have an emergency supply in the freezer or pantry to last us a few weeks if for some unforeseen circumstances we could not make it to the store.

Every week, I also pick up a couple of new items to experiment with. Here are this week’s contenders.

IMG_5416

I hate plain coconut water, but my trainer insists I keep drinking it to get the necessary electrolytes to avoid muscle cramping and soreness. I am going to try flavored coconut water see if it’s any better.

6. All girls enjoy flowers, even Domino Smile

IMG_5425  IMG_5431

7.  Beer. I usually prefer wine, but when it’s sunny and we are hanging outside I reach for a cold one.

IMG_5442

8. Summer food. Hot dogs make me so happy especially when paired with home-made coleslaw.

IMG_5449

My trick to a perfect hot dog is to use chicken sausages, boil them first to get them plump and lower the sodium content, than fry them up. I also toast the buns in the oven and spread some laughing cow on one side. Eric calls these gourmet dogs.

9. Ice-cream (This one speaks for itself Winking smile)

IMG_5451

[Jane Asks]: What do you like to do on a summer day?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 3:47 am

    Have you thought about the coconut water in a smoothie? I use it in place of regular water in mine – I agree coconut water plain is no bueno 🙂

    • July 25, 2011 5:27 pm

      That’s a good idea Kristin! I’ll try that! Thanks. I also picked up some flavored coconut water (chocolate and mango) to try.

    • July 25, 2011 5:27 pm

      That’s a good idea Kristin! I’ll try that! Thanks. I also picked up some flavored coconut water (chocolate and mango) to try.

  2. July 24, 2011 8:46 pm

    I just bought a coconut water to try… and now don’t really want to? Hmmmmm.

    Looks like you had a pretty awesome Saturday to me!

Trackbacks

  1. Lunch Bag Lady «

Leave a Reply

