Skip to content

Lunch Bag Lady

July 27, 2011

When you eat the same thing for lunch day after day, and week after week, it tends to lose it’s excitement.

IMG_5323

So how you do add some pizazz back in? You switch your lunch bag! It’s like when you re-arrange the furniture in your room, and all of a sudden it looks and feels like a completely different place.  And so I treated myself to a new lunch bag, and not just any bag, but a cute insulated tote by Built.

IMG_5397

The best part (besides an awesome French Bull pattern) is that it can easily fit my giant salad bowl, yogurt, dressing, fruits and probably more but I have not pushed it to its limits yet. The material is stretchy and it can be folded down when done.

IMG_5477IMG_5478

Did you notice the awesome hot pink lining inside?! Smile 

No, Domino, you can’t borrow it. This bag is for mama!

IMG_5398

Monday is usually a checkpoint date against my marathon training plan and eating goals but I was so pre-occupied with thoughts about Jane’s Addictions yesterday that I forgot to reflect on my own progress. 

Last Week’s Exercise:

Day

Goal

Actual

Mon

Bikram Yoga

Yoga felt so good after my half marathon run.

Tue

Marathon class + 3 miles

I was worried that running so quickly after the big race might be uncomfortable but the 3-miler helped loosen up my muscles and I had a great workout.

Wed

Bikram Yoga

I made it to Bikram yet again.

Thu

Marathon class + 6 miles

This is where things deviated from the plan as last night we went to a concert and had a little too much to drink the night. I still ran to the gym (3 miles), but opted out of running back and did 2 miles of intervals on the treadmill instead.

Fri

Bikram

This was the hardest class all week after a movie night on Thursday.

Sat

Bikram + 4 miles run

It was a great sunny day so I ran to yoga (5 miles)

Sun

9M Run

RAC to Redhook Superchallenge (I covered 10.5 miles in total plus the drills)

Total Run

22 miles

23.5 miles

If I only burned as many calories every day as I do on weekends, I could eat all the cannoli my heart desires Smile

image

image

This week will be interesting as I am ramping up the mileage to 30 miles.

Exercise Plan for this week:

Day

Goal

Mon

Yoga

Tue

Marathon training + 6M

Wed

Yoga + Circuit Training + 3M

Thu

Marathon training + 6M

Fri

Yoga

Sat

15M Run

Sun

Yoga

Eating Goals:

I have stopped tracking my calorie intake and have been mostly relying on my body’s hunger levels to decide when and what to eat but this week, I want to keep a rough estimate of how much I am consuming. I don’t want my eating to get out of control. I will aim for around 1700-2000 calories a day, even a bit higher on the days I run to avoid restricting my calories too much and overeating later. So here is what today’s breakdown looks like:

Pre-workout meal (toast, nut butter, fruit) ~200 cal

IMG_5482

Breakfast (morning burrito with egg whites, green peppers, mushrooms and cheese) ~200 cal

IMG_5487

Lunch (You guessed it! It’s the good old salad) ~300 cal

Snack (yogurt with Uncle Sam Cereal, Banana, PB) ~300-400 cal

IMG_5488

Dinner ~700 cal (I enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine and flat breads with the girls at iPic Movie Theater in Redmond Town Center. We went just for the happy hour and  it did not disappoint)

I started with the house salad (I love places that have fancy house salads like in this case: spinach, goat cheese, strawberries, red onions)

IMG_5489

We ordered two flat breads and they were a good size to share. The first one had artichokes, roasted chicken, spinach and mozzarella.

IMG_5490

The second one was BBQ chicken with caramelized onions and lots of cheese.

IMG_5491

We also split an order of sweet potato fries that had some Cajun spices on them.

IMG_5492

Dessert and Evening Snack ~150 cal– I ended the night with a skinny cow peanut butter sandwich.

[Jane Asks] What’s your favorite Happy Hour spot?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 6:26 pm

    What a cute lunch bag! And how awesome that it fits tuber ware containers.I usually bring my lunch in an old Whole Foods bag or something to that extent. Talk about upgrades 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Did someone call for a doctor? «

Leave a Reply

