Skip to content

Tofu experiment

July 28, 2011

Protein is an important nutrient in every diet especially for runners as it helps with injury prevention and muscle recovery. Running is a high intensity exercise which causes small muscle tears (you build muscle by tearing it first, that’s why you feel sore after lifting weights or a long run). Protein helps repair the damage in muscle tissue. It also helps with providing energy and cell growth (not just for your muscles, but your hair, nails, bones, eyes, etc.) For distance runners it’s is recommended to consume 0.5-0.75 grams of protein for every pound of body weight.

www.toothpastefordinner.com

I get plenty of protein via various natural sources like dairy (Greek Yogurt), lean poultry and fish, legumes (beans, soy milk), nuts and nut butters. I don’t use protein shakes or bars much (maybe I should?!) as I find them to be high in calories and sugar and not very filling. Once in a while I’ll make a green smoothie with vegetable protein powder, or reach for a Luna bar when my sweet tooth acts up. During winter months I incorporate vegan protein by making chili, stews and soups with beans and lentils. I like to bulk up my pasta with Yves Meatless Ground (soy-based protein) and sometimes I use Morning star or Boca burgers on my salads. However, I’ve shied away from plain Tofu, that is until today.

During my recent trip to Trader Joe’s I picked up some organic, unprocessed high protein Tofu.

IMG_5497IMG_5499

I was nervous when opening the package, as I heard that Tofu can be hard to cut and tends to crumble a lot. This kind was easy to slice and it held together nicely while cooking.

IMG_5503

I left the cubed tofu in the fridge marinating in Trader Joe’s Island Soyaki sauce while I went to work.  

IMG_5505IMG_5506

IMG_5508

When it came time for dinner, I chopped whatever veggies I had in the fridge – zucchini, bell peppers, celery, carrots and mushrooms.

IMG_5512

I carefully placed tofu on top of all the veggies and stir-fried for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_5515

Once cooking was finished, I served the mixture over cooked brown rice.

IMG_5517

The sauce was sweet and a bit tangy and tofu absorbed the flavor fully. The veggies were still crisp and provided a good balance to the tofu’s texture. Eric’s working late tonight, so he was not home to evaluate this new dish, but projecting my husband’s taste, I think he’d give it thumbs up.

[Jane Asks]: Do you make tofu dishes? What’s your favorite recipe?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 4:48 am

    I make a lasagna with tofu in it that is really good. I will email the recipe if you are interested. The carbs & protein ratio balance out pretty evenly – the first time my guys ate it they had no idea there was even tofu in it.

  2. July 28, 2011 1:10 pm

    I have been wanting to experiment with tofu! This seems like a good dish for a beginner like me! Perhaps it will be on my plate soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Did someone call for a doctor? «

Leave a Reply

