Skip to content

Spicing things up

July 30, 2011

It all started with a half teaspoon of cinnamon that I decided to add to my overnight oats recipe when preparing it last night. Next thing I know I am mixing in a tablespoon of chia seeds as well and skipping peanut butter. (Confession: I had a bit too much of it during the week as a dip for pita chips.) Don’t worry, PB makes a guest appearance as the best supporting nut butter later in the afternoon show, also starring a Fuji Apple and three Washington grown apricots.

I topped off the overnight oat mutant with berries and ¼ cup Kashi GoLean cereal. (Hello, old friend! It’s been awhile, and we took some space, but let’s give it another shot as a topping to oats or yogurt.)

IMG_5527

Well from this on, crazy things started happening and instead of packing my usual salad for lunch, I cut up fresh veggies with hummus as a side to an open faced egg salad sandwich. (When I was a kid back in Russia, all the sandwiches I ever had were open faced sandwiches. I’m going back to the childhood ways and skipping the extra bread.)

IMG_5529

I toasted the bread in the toaster oven at work and my taste buds were delighted to get something warm for a change. I might get wild and try a tuna melt next time.

Midafternoon snack of apple slices, apricots and Justin’s PB.

IMG_5532

Eric had a haircut appointment this evening, so we decided to bike to the plaza where his hairdresser is and get some dinner at a nearby Mexican restaurant we both like – Mi Tierra.

Before heading out, I fueled up with my last Chobani yogurt topped off with Kashi GoLean.

IMG_5536

The patio was packed so we sat at the bar area instead of the main dining room for a change.

IMG_5543

They have the best tortilla chips with salsa and refried cheesy beans (and it’s complimentary). We had to get seconds!

IMG_5539

For the main course, we split Chicken Fajitas with corn tortillas, the serving was huge.

IMG_5540

The bike ride was so fun! It ended up being 18 miles roundtrip at ~12 miles/hour with some hills at the end, enough to burn one basket of tortilla chips with refried bean spread I hope. Winking smile

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

