Skip to content

Running in the rain

August 2, 2011

Weather Forecaster must be the easiest job in the Northwest – partially cloudy with some sunny breaks and a chance of rain. But they somehow mess it up more often than not. When I looked at the weekend’s forecast, it was expected to be sunny all weekend in the high 70s. Sundays are my long-run days. When I woke up at 7am, it was overcast and in the low 60s which is actually the best weather to run in. I realize I am pretty spoilt to run in these conditions on most mornings while the rest of the country is struggling through heat waves. I once tried running after work on a sunny day and I could only cover two miles before heading home dripping in sweat, out of breath and very thirsty. My whole body swelled up from the heat and all the day’s food jiggling in my belly only made me feel worse.

Getting back to Sunday… I had a long run planned – 15 miles. The most I’ve run up to this point has been the half marathon, so I was a bit worried, but I figured I’d take it slow, one mile at a time and see how it goes. The hardest part with running is to start. On the days that I feel the most self-doubt and don’t think I can do it, I end up having the best runs. I am constantly surprised and impressed as I discover my body’s strength.

I had a bigger pre-run breakfast of two GoLean Kashi waffles with sunflower seed butter and raspberry jam. (I was missing a banana to make a happy plate face)

IMG_5561

I started out at my usual pace, around ~9 min/miles and I knew this was going to be a challenge as it started to drizzle by that time. By mile 4 it began to rain, but I kept on going. There is something so cleaning and therapeutic about running in the rain. The rain also helped keep the traffic on the trail low (I run on Sammamish River trail by our house. I remember the first couple of times when Eric and I walked/biked on it, I kept thinking we should totally get on the trail more often. Now I know every mile-marker, bathroom, and water fountain spot. Soon enough I’ll know every tree and bush along the way. You’ll just need to show me a picture of a tree and I’d tell you exactly how many miles it is from our house Smile.)

At 7.5 miles, an hour and 10 minutes into the run, I turned around and began the journey back. I took a break at 8.5 miles to eat the Watermelon GU Chomp that I picked up at Footzone with a gift certificate I won at RAC to Redhook back in June. I also picked up a few other goodies there like new water bottles as I lost my pink one during the See Jane Run. I have two bottles now just in case one goes missing again.

IMG_5564

At mile 12, I ran into a friend who was out for a 6 mile run. That was a great boost of energy and inspiration for both of us even though we could not run together as she was just starting out while I was dragging my sore butt back home. I made it to the end of the trail with only 0.5 mile to go to the house, which is on top of a giant hill.

Tall hill

(You can’t even see the steep part as the road veers slightly to the left.)

I decided to call it a day and walked the rest, finishing the 15 miles in 2h 19min. I came home soaking wet, tired but with a great sense of accomplishment.

IMG_5567

(The shirt is light pink when dry.)

My post-run meal consisted of Greek yogurt, GoLean Kashi Cereal, 2 apricots chopped up and a teaspoon of chia seeds.

IMG_5568

A couple of hours later, I made lunch for Eric and I – salad and an open-faced tuna melt.

Salad: Baby Arugula, shredded carrots, cut up baby beets, red onion slices, garbanzo beans and 1tbsp of feta cheese, sprinkled with TJ’s Balsamic Vinaigrette.

IMG_5573

Tuna Melt: a can of Trader Joe’s white tuna with no salt added, a couple of scallions, and 1 tbsp of Marie’s Honey Dijon Lite dressing. Season with black pepper to taste.

IMG_5571

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and place tuna mixture on top of whole wheat bread slices. If you are going with an open faced version, use thicker bread slices like TJ’s sprouted whole grain bread.

IMG_5574

Top off with cheese – Jarlsberg Lite is the favorite at our house.

IMG_5575

Bake in the oven for about 7-10 minutes until cheese is melted.

IMG_5576

That hit the spot!

I spent the majority of the afternoon on the couch recuperating with a movie and a snuggled up kitten.

Dinner was Russian egg cucumber salad with Chicken Frankfurters and lots of watermelon. I eat a quarter of watermelon (even more when it’s ripe and juicy like the one we had last night) in one serving, so I have no hesitations with buying the largest one I can find, as I know it’ll be gone in a few days. Smile

Salad: 1 large English cucumber, 1 bunch of radishes, 1 bunch of green onions, 1celery stalk, 3 hard boiled eggs. All chopped up into small pieces.

IMG_5585

IMG_5587

IMG_5590

Oh, how I love summers – a chance to exercise outside and eat delicious local fruits and veggies. I wish summer would never end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 4:57 am

    It was so good “running” into you 🙂 The more I think about my run yesterday the more I am so happy I did it. I just love a run like that – where you overcome some hurdles to get out there, but once you do & you are warmed up you get all these little signs reminding you why you run.

  2. August 2, 2011 11:53 am

    I am so jealous of your running weather. Running on the treadmill is so boring, but running outside may lead to heat stroke. I cannot wait to get back to the West Coast!

Trackbacks

  1. Did someone call for a doctor? «

Leave a Reply

