Skip to content

Drunken Noodles

August 17, 2011
tags:

One of Eric’s all time favorites is my lasagna (and there you probably thought this post will be about Thai food… Tricked ya! Smile). I don’t make lasagna very often as it requires lots of TLC (Time, Layering and Cleaning afterwards) and most importantly, patience, of which I have none when I am hungry. But I love my snuggle bear, so I decided to spoil him for dinner. I was also eager to try out a new roasted vegetable lasagna recipe that I discovered on the back of the noodle box. I figured they would not print it there unless it was foolproof. That would be bad marketing otherwise.

The recipe called for: eggplant, red peppers, onion, olive oil, salt, pepper, parsley, ricotta cheese, shredded mozzarella, noodles and marina sauce.

IMG_5946

This was going to be quite an undertaking, so to get some courage I got started on a bottle of Chianti.

IMG_5959IMG_5965

Know what goes great with wine? Cheese!

IMG_5967

and Pop Chips.

IMG_5956

(Don’t you dare ask about the shirt Smile)

Wasn’t I doing something else? Oh, right, I was about to get started on the Lasagna.

First step is to dice the veggies, and toss them with olive oil, salt and pepper. Sounds easy enough.

IMG_5948

Next, roast veggies on a large baking sheet at 450 degrees for 30 minutes. IMG_5949

Into the oven they go.

While veggies are roasting, mix together 1 container of ricotta cheese, 1 egg and parsley (It was my call to add an egg)

IMG_5951

Darn! Forgot to take the photo of veggies afterwards. I did have 30 minutes to kill spend with my Chianti.

Now the real craftsmanship begins as you layer the lasagna. Start with 1/2 cup of marinara sauce at the bottom of 13×9 inch pan. Place 5 noodles, then 1/2 ricotta mixture, 1/2 veggies, repeat noodles and so on.

IMG_5968

The trick is to take your time with spreading the cheese and veggies as evenly as possible. When you get to the last noodle layer, top it off with 1 cup of marinara sauce and 1 cup of shredded mozzarella.

IMG_5969

Cover with foil and bake for 40 minutes at 350 degrees. Uncover and bake for 10 more minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

Two hours, many dirty dishes, and lots of wine later, there she is! What a beauty!

IMG_5973

Let it cool for 5-10 minutes and serve with side salad of heirloom tomatoes, fresh mozzarella balls and basil.

IMG_5974

Sadly, even though the recipe yields 9 servings, in our house we only get 6 (and that’s because I hide leftover lasagna behind lettuce and Greek yogurt in the fridge so Eric won’t eat it all at once).

[Jane Asks] What’s the longest time you spent preparing a meal? This is by far the longest I spent cooking for just the two of us. My holiday meals take a few hours, but those involve guests and multiple courses from appetizers to dessert.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2011 2:40 am

    This recipe looks so yummy! I am definitely going to have to make something like this soon! Longest I have prepared a dish? Not sure off the top of my head, but I did make Thanksgiving dinner once with my then boyfriend, and that took a while!!

Leave a Reply

