Skip to content

Calorie Circle of Life

August 23, 2011

Happy Monday! I know how anxious you must be to see all the food I’ve consumed and hear about my exercise this weekend  Smile So without further delay, let me begin the tale of two days of eats.

I had a serious calorie burn in store this Saturday:

  • Running 6 miles (550 calories)
  • Yoga 90 minutes (575 calories)
  • Biking 15 miles (400 calories)

That’s a total of 1525 calories! I pretty much concluded that the only explanation for my workout insanity (besides the adrenaline and endorphin highs)  is that I can eat more all day Smile.

I started the day with Kodiak pancakes topped with peanut butter and banana (~350 calories)

IMG_6065

I was too lazy to make separate pancakes, so instead I went for one giant one.

IMG_6067

After the run and yoga, I had Fage plain Greek Yogurt, peach, GoLean Kashi cereal and chia seeds (~250 calories)

IMG_6071

Afterwards, Eric and I decided to bike to Whole Foods Whole Paycheck to scope out their weekend specials and grab some lunch. I love the Whole Foods Salad bar and don’t nearly get to eat it often enough so I filled my container to the top with pretty much everything they carried (~400 calories since I skipped the dressing Winking smile)

IMG_6074

After our $22 lunch and more biking, we spread our sweaty bodies on the deck with summer refreshments of watermelon, cold beer and Pop Chips (easily another 500 calories)

IMG_6077

Check out my first home grown tomato from our “garden” (I loosely refer to the sandbox filled with some soil as garden. We experimented this year by planting some herbs and a few tomato plants. To my surprise, we got a few tomatoes, but all the herbs died. Just shows how random Northwest Gardening is.)

IMG_6099

Harvesting the results of our non-existent yard work wild life in the backyard.

IMG_6102

The little apples are crab apples and are quite sour, but the bigger ones are actually edible (but I’ll eat anything with chocolate peanut butter on top)

IMG_6103

Dinner followed shortly – slow roasted sirloin tip roast with balsamic green beans and tomatoes (I only had about a 3 ounce portion ~250 calories)

IMG_6085

I drank the rest of my dinner (~300 wine calories) The evening festivities concluded with ice cream and cherries (~300 calories). No time to take pictures as both quickly disappeared.

Total calories consumed 2350+ (Every one was worth it and I would not change a single bite!)

[Jane Asks]: Any suggestions for crab apple recipes? So far, the only thing I could find is crab apple butter.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2011 8:30 pm

    Hi Jane! I found your blog on carrotsncake, I live in Redmond too! Love your site! 🙂

  2. August 24, 2011 12:53 am

    I need to make/find these pancakes you speak of! Looks like you had an awesome birthday!!

  3. August 24, 2011 12:53 am

    And by birthday, I mean weekend! Ha, I need to go to sleep clearly!!

Leave a Reply

