Skip to content

Shredding

August 27, 2011
tags:

Day1 of the Low Carb Challenge is complete and day 2 is almost behind me, so let me tell you how Thursday went.

Exercise:

  • Ran to the gym and back
  • Form training day, where I got to enjoy yet another video of myself running (is it just me, or do things tend to jiggle a lot when running? Not a pretty sight, must remember to wear tighter clothing next time).  My arm swinging got much better (although now my trainer is saying I am too stiff in my upper body. Geez!) and my forward tilt is good, but I heel strike. My trainer wants to see me land mid-foot, which I tried practicing on the way back home. I ended up leaping like a gazelle  hippopotamus with an identify crisis, and my calves got super sore. It seems like I might have been running on my tippy toes instead. I guess I tend to swing from one extreme to another. I did some research and turns out that over 70% of elite runners heel strike. Apparently that was the recommended approach a few years back. Oh, who knows! I’ll try the mid-foot again but I suspect I’ll just end up going with whatever is more comfortable at the end.

Eats:

Breakfast 1: Light toast with PB and 1/2 banana

IMG_6180

Breakfast 2: Egg whites, spinach, tomato omelet with cantaloupe and cucumber slices

IMG_6187

Lunch: Salad with salmon + Think Thin Bar (not pictured until I get a lucrative endorsement deal)

IMG_6189

Snack: 5.7 oz of non-fat Greek yogurt + berries

IMG_6128

Dinner: Shredded chicken, 1/2 cup of rice/bean/corn mixture on bed of romaine lettuce

IMG_6192

Dessert: Protein shake with 1/3 cup of blueberries

IMG_6198

Cheats:

  • 1 tbsp of peanut butter
  • 1 plum

Even my cheats were relatively low carb, so I consider this a successful first challenge day!

Happy Friday!

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. 7 pound itch «

Leave a Reply

