Skip to content

Another Joe in my life

August 28, 2011
tags:

Saturday sleep-ins are the best! “Our weekend alarm clock” did not wake us until 7am.

IMG_6163

Eric’s been getting bored with my toast, peanut butter, banana picture, so to spice things up I made Kodiak pancakes for breakfast. I spread some sunflower seed butter on mine and topped it with banana slices (Can’t mess with perfection Smile)

IMG_6064

I had a 4 mile easy run booked on my training plan, but it was a beautiful day and since I cut a mile off my Thursday run, I decided to take a bit of a detour on my way to the yoga studio.

Exercise:

  • 5.75 miles in 49 minutes
  • Bikram Yoga class

1100 calories and 3 hours later, I was in need of protein replenishment.

IMG_6211

I used up the last of the shredded chicken to make a delicious quesadilla for lunch. Quesadillas are best when made on the grill or skillet. The tortilla turns nice and crispy while the cheese gets warm and melty.

IMG_6217

After running some errands and a quick trip to the mall, I made a high protein snack of cantaloupe and cottage cheese at home. (I was proud of myself for avoiding the temptation to stop in at the Godiva store and I walked right past it.)

IMG_6224

For dinner, I baked a Wild Sockeye salmon fillet in a bit of olive oil, dill, lemon pepper and parmesan cheese. The directions are super easy. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Rub the salmon with olive oil and spices. Sprinkle parmesan, wrap in foil and bake for 20 minutes. Carefully unwrap, avoiding the hot steam rushing out as soon as you lift the foil.

IMG_6229

I served the salmon on a bed of spinach along with sweet Walla Walla onions and baby tomatoes.

IMG_6230

(The sliced tomato in the middle is from our backyard. It was sweet like candy! We are up to 4 and a few more green ones to ripen soon.)

Cheats:

Weekends call for some needed relaxation which in our household means a glass (or two) of wine on the deck. Eric and I split a bottle of Joe’s Sparkling. This Joe guy sure knows how make tasty wines but he certainly downplays it by skipping all the fancy adjectives when describing the flavors.

IMG_6227IMG_6236

I picked up another fabulous watermelon from TJ’s – super juicy, sweet and meaty.

IMG_6240

Another perfect summer Saturday night chilling at the house!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 8:39 pm

    Really good. Love that! Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

