Skip to content

Blissful 14 Miles

August 29, 2011

For this week’s long run, I decided to venture out into the wild and instead of my usual boring Sammamish River trail, I drove north to Snoqualmie Valley in Duvall.

After getting lost (and getting Eric, my knight in shining armor, to guide me on the phone) I made it Duvall by 9:30am.  The trail starts right at the Duvall’s police station and a nice lady officer actually walked me down while explaining the history of the trail (See how safe I am, mom, so stop worrying about me running on my own Smile with tongue out).

photo 3 (4)

Turns out this used to be a railroad years ago and after it went out of commission they put  a bunch of gravel on top and folks were drawn to the serenity ever since.

It was one of the most blissful 14 miles.

photo 4 (3)

photo 1

The trail was nicely shaded with small bridges and lots of farms along the way.

photo 2 (3)

There were a few bikers, runners and dog owners with cute doggies waving and nodding at me (People are so friendly in small towns).

But I really had to watch my step to avoid running over the locals on the trail…

photo 1 (2)

I ran out 7 miles, had a short Gu Chomp break, and ran back. It took me almost 30 seconds to open the Gu packet. They seal it like it’s for Jacques Cousteau on his underwater expedition. I pulled, I ripped, I bit and eventually I was able to make a tiny little tear that I had to flex my biceps to spread.

photo 2

The run back seemed faster and shorter (hopefully an indication that I am getting stronger Smile). I finished the run in just over 2 hours (2:04 to be exact), and spent the next 20 minutes stretching at a little meadow (and I might have picked a few blackberries in the process).

photo 4 (2)

One of the best runs, the only downside was that I am not used to running on gravel so it was  a bit tough on my feet. I should have worn my other running shoes with more stability and cushioning.

Lunch had two parts. First there was the usual post-workout Greek yogurt, Go Lean Cereal, Berries and Chia Seeds:

IMG_6201

(At least I omitted the toast, nut butter, banana photo, so you get to suffer through this one Smile)

Then a giant salad of spinach, tomatoes, bocconcini (little mozzarella balls) and grilled chicken, topped off with basil, balsamic vinaigrette and olive oil.

IMG_6245

I had some watermelon later on but kept my snacking to a minimum to save for a dinner out at John Howie’s. Last time we were at John Howie’s, we had a marvelous meal and incredible service, so I was eager to try it again. This time we opted for the Happy Hour menu.

I ordered prime tenderloins and walnut bread with warm olives.

IMG_6248

IMG_6249

The tenderloins were divine, but the olive dish was nah! They tried to be fancy (or lazy) and toasted the bread on one side, which totally messed with my mind just like the Victor and Victoria movie. I was also picturing chopped up olive spread rather than a skillet full of hot olives, so my taste buds were disappointed. It was only $5 and Eric helped to finish it (demonstrating that he loves me more than he hates olives).

You can take a man out of a burger joint, but you can’t take a burger lover out of a man.

IMG_6251

There is no better place to have a 1/2 pound cheeseburger but at a steak house (at least you know you are getting high-quality meat!)

For dessert, we walked over to a nearby Italian café and split 2 scoops of gelato (chocolate hazelnut and coconut, my two favorite flavors) while reminiscing about the gallons of gelato we each had when travelling in Italy.

IMG_6253

It failed in comparison to real Italian gelato, but overall was pretty good for Seattle.

IMG_6255

 

Jane Asks: Where’s your favorite place to run?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kristin tidd permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:11 pm

    You should try Sirena Gelato in downtown Kirkland. It has the best I have found here & it is all local WA dairy.
    Crossing my fingers that my hips will be well enough fir a run on the river trail this weekend.

  2. August 30, 2011 11:59 am

    I love running on trails like that! It’s so much more pretty with things to look and at get distracted with! I think I need to plan a trip to Washington, I’ve never been and all the places you go look gorgeous and/or delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Running in the New Year «

Leave a Reply

