Skip to content

Tis the Season of Jolly Pumpkins

October 21, 2011
tags:

October should be declared National Pumpkin Month.

MP900442469[1]

It mostly is already with all the full, round, orange glowing pumpkins (and I am not talking about overly self-tanned ladies) decorating the grocery store aisles.

If that’s not enough to get you excited for the fall, try looking at Facebook pictures of your friends with their kids at a pumpkin patch. The little ones are so cute posing next to pumpkins bigger than they are.

And of course there are all the fabulous pumpkin recipes popping up all over your favorite recipe sites.

image

I could not resist! I was sold on the big orange hoopla and decided to make some pumpkin dessert. You guys know I don’t bake much, partly because I am too impatient for the precise measurements and hours it takes before I get to eat the darn thing, but mostly because when I bake, I hoover half of it in a single sitting (I am not even counting the spoon, bowl and occasional finger lickings). But the pumpkin temptation was strong with this Yogi, so I persisted with Internet searching until I came across this Pumpkin Smash recipe from Hungry Girl.

The ingredients list was easy:

IMG_7133

One 15-oz. can pure pumpkin
One 12-oz. can evaporated fat-free milk
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute
3/4 cup Splenda No Calorie Sweetener (I used 1/2 cup instead)
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (I did not have pumpkin pie spice handy, but I made my own as I had all the spices individually.)

IMG_7135

Mix, bake at 350 for 45 minutes, and enjoy.

IMG_7136

The Pumpkin smash resembled a Pumpkin pie, obviously not as rich and without the crust, but similar in both texture and taste, which is exactly what I was in the mood for.

IMG_7145

Top off a piece with some Whipped cream and for less than 100 calories my pumpkin dessert craving was satisfied. It was so easy to make, I might just do that one again next week.

As I am figuring out my blogging material, I am thinking of dedicating one post a week to a new recipe. This will get me motivated to try new foods and meal ideas while hopefully keep the content fresh and interesting for you.  Next on my list is to recreate the pumpkin pasta that Eric had at Chandler’s Crabhouse last week. 

[Jane Asks]: What’s your favorite pumpkin recipe?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    October 21, 2011 4:43 pm

    I have a great recipe for pumpkin cheesecake. And pumpkin snickerdoodles. And pumpkin bread with chocolate chips. Mmmm…But, like you, I will eat everything I bake, so I try not to do it unless I know other people are going to help eat it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Oatmeal (& Eggs) «
  2. When you make it, fake it «

Leave a Reply

