Skip to content

Pumpkin Oatmeal (& Eggs)

October 27, 2011
tags:

Burr! There is no denying it – winter is near! Our temperature dropped 15 degrees overnight and I noticed a thin sheet of ice over Eric’s car windshield and the front lawn this morning as I headed to hot yoga. I am appreciating the heat in the studio a lot more these days as Seattle fall and winter months are wet and chilly.

To continue with the pumpkin theme and in the mood for something warm for breakfast, I decided to make Pumpkin Oatmeal. Never having made Pumpkin Oatmeal before, I figured it couldn’t be much different from regular oatmeal: just add pumpkin, some pumpkin pie spice and maple syrup.

IMG_7201

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
  • ½ of 15 oz can of pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp of Maple syrup

Directions:

  • Mix first 4 ingredients in a pot
  • Heat on high until bubbling, cover and simmer on low for 20 minutes
  • Stir in pumpkin and maple syrup and simmer for 5 more minutes
  • Yields 3 servings (3 WW pts+ each)

While waiting for the oatmeal, I started on a veggie omelet to balance out the high-carb part of my breakfast. I sprayed the skillet with a bit of olive oil and sautéed veggies for a couple of minutes at medium heat.

IMG_7204

Marveling at my multitasking abilities to cook two things at once for breakfast and daydreaming of one day turning into a professional housekeeper like Martha Stewart (minus the millions and the criminal record), I completely missed the oats boiling over.

IMG_7205

Doh! Martha would never let that happen. She would have never picked the too-small pot to start with and then blog all about her screw up. Well, I’d better stick with my real job for now!

www.nataliedee.com
www.nataliedee.com

After transferring the oats to  a larger pot and getting rescued by Bounties (one sheet my ass!) I poured the egg mixture over the slightly overc0oked veggies.

IMG_7206

The trick to a good omelet is in the flip. The timing has to be just right where the bottom is hardened (otherwise it will fall apart) and the top is no longer liquid (or it will splash all over during the flip). The best way to tell is to gently lift the sides so they are not stuck to the skillet and then shake the skillet to loosen up the rest of the omelet. Then you insert your biggest and widest spatula (are you giggling, you dirty dog?) under the omelet and with a quick wrist motion you do the flip. If you are really fancy you can flip with no spatula like on Top Chef, but I already had enough mess to clean up for one morning, so I used a spatula.

After the flip, it’s easy sailing. Just top off the “less pretty side” with shredded cheese, fold, and serve.

IMG_7207

I was glad nothing went to waste and I was able to recover both the omelet and the oats. The eggs had a subtle pumpkin spice flavor to them. Nothing a little ketchup can’t fix Smile

IMG_7211

The oatmeal turned out divine – creamy, warm, with a hint of spice! I topped mine off with a few cranberries and walnuts to complement the pumpkin.

IMG_7217

Stove-cooked oatmeal reheats really well in the microwave, so I usually cook it in bulk and have it ready to go for the week.

[Jane Asks]: What are the most unusual seasoned eggs have you ever had? The pumpkin pie spice is definitely a first for me. Sometimes I am in the mood for more flavor and add red chili peppers or a bit of hot sauce and always ketchup.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon permalink
    October 31, 2011 11:14 pm

    I tried this recipe this weekend. Mike and I liked it but it actually didn’t taste as pumpkiny as I was expecting. I didn’t have pumpkin pie spice so I used cinnamon and nutmeg instead. Maybe that was the issue. Not sure.

    • November 1, 2011 5:30 am

      The flavor is settle. You can tweak the recipe to bring out more flavor, by using less milk, more pumpkin and brown sugar.

Trackbacks

  1. The Good, the Bad, the Ugly «
  2. Positive encounter «

Leave a Reply

