Skip to content

Monster Dinner

October 31, 2011

Halloween marks the beginning of the holiday season (in my mind at least!) It’s like memorial day weekend for white pants. After Halloween you know every store, big and small, far or near, chain or mom&pop shop will be covered in Christmas decorations and blasting Jingle bells for the next two months.

I love malls during Christmas (I avoid them like a plague for shopping), but they remind me of my student days when I used to work in retail and help stressed and overwhelmed customers find gifts for their loved ones. The relief you see on their faces when you dig up a specific item they are looking for in the right size/color, or when you come up with a “brilliant” budget gift idea for Secret Santa is priceless (almost as gratifying as volunteering at soup kitchens I tell ya). Men are particular entertaining as they usually have no clue about the specifics but only a general idea for what to get. I remember one time when I worked at the lingerie department at the Bay (like a Canadian Macy’s) in Waterloo, ON and this guy in his late thirties asked me to recommend a red lingerie set for his wife. (It’s always red, whether Christmas or Valentines day, or just plain anniversary. Ladies, take a hint, dudes love seeing us in red undergarments!) I asked him what size his wife was. He stared right at my chest and said “about your size.” I sent him home with careful instructions to snoop around her dresser drawer when she was out and to write down her sizes.

Oh wait, this is supposed to be about Halloween, not Christmas. Duh! My most favorite part of Halloween is to see all the little ones dressed up in the cutest costumes! I absolutely love seeing babies that can’t even walk or hold their own bucket resemble a stuffed animal of some sort. But how do those parents sleep at night– pimping their babies out for candy! We all know those little ones can’t eat all the candy they collect Winking smile.

Halloween calls for a special gruesome meal, so this evening in the haunted Lawrence mansion we indulged in bloody chicken guts, jack-o-lantern limbs, and green giant brains… Whoo-hahaha! (My attempt at an evil laugh). In other words, we had baked chicken thighs, sweet potato fries and roasted broccoli and Brussels sprouts (but where is the fun in that?!) 

I got the Chicken Thigh recipe from one of my favorite cookbooks – Crazy Plates. It’s written by Canadian sisters and includes a lot of tasty low-fat and fool-proof recipes.

IMG_7268

Ingredients

IMG_7272

  • 1.5lbs of chicken thighs
  • 1/4 cup Salsa
  • 1/4 cup Ketchup
  • 1tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1tsp of Honey
  • 1/2tsp cumin

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients except chicken in a bowl IMG_7276
  2. Coat both sides of chicken with the mixture IMG_7277
  3. Bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutest uncovered
  4. 20 minutes after you put the chicken in, add sweet potato fries and veggies into the oven for the remaining 25 min IMG_7278IMG_7283
  5. Enjoy your Monster Dinner! IMG_7284

My tip for all the healthy eaters out there (or aspiring healthy eaters like myself) – buy candy you don’t like, or at least a kind where a single piece does not trigger 5 more to follow. I am really bad with “fun size” chocolate bars, especially Kit Kats and Reese Peanut Butter cups, so this year I am giving out Tootsie Rolls, Twizzlers, and Milk Duds. After one tiny tootsie roll, and a half-hour picking it out of my teeth, my candy craving was killed for good.

[Jane Asks]: Do you stick to your healthy eating principles on Halloween or do you indulge? What are your tips for avoiding all the tempting treats?

Leave a Reply

