Skip to content

Crockpot Monday

November 14, 2011

Once in awhile when I am too busy or mostly too lazy to cook at night, I bring out the slow-cooker.

IMG_7408

It’s a lifesafer especially when it comes to hearty meals that make my hubby love me even more, like pot roast with veggies. I don’t eat red meat often, but when there is a nice sirloin tip on sale, I default to my caveman instincts and drag home a 3-4lb roast that we feast on for a few days. Red meat has been getting lots of negative press lately, but lean cuts are actually really good for you as it’s rich in iron, a nutrient many women need to get more of.

Before sharing the recipe with you, let me just tell you about a handy trick I discovered one night while flipping through late night infomercials – slow cooker liners.

IMG_7410IMG_7411

I found them in my local supermarket the next day and our lives have never been the same. Basically these are big plastic bags that have a high heat tolerance that you place in the slow cooker before the edible ingredients. Afterwards, you toss these out and simply wipe and rinse the pot. Makes my cleaning crew so happy so they can spend more time doing what they do best (snuggling, coding and being startled by the bright flash).

IMG_7424

On to the recipe now…

Slow Cooked Pot Roast with Veggies

IMG_7423

Ingredients:

IMG_7413IMG_7415

  • Lean cut roast
  • 1-2 lbs of potatoes (red ones hold up best. I used a blend)
  • 1 large onion
  • 1/2 cup red wine (preferably Cabernet)
  • 1/2 lbs of baby carrots or full size carrots pealed and cut 
  • green beans for serving afterwards

Directions:

  1. Place the roast at the bottom of the slow cooker and sprinkle with your favorite spices. I used Montreal Steak seasoning, bay leaves, thyme, a bit of marjoram.
    IMG_7414
  2. Cut up potatoes, onions and carrots and place on top
    IMG_7416
  3. Mix the wine, rosemary and a bit of salt and pepper and pour over top of the mixture
    IMG_7417
  4. Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours
    IMG_7418

Not having to cook makes Monday a little easier to tolerate! Smile

[Jane Asks]: What’s your least favorite day of the week?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

