Skip to content

Going strong in heat and cold

December 14, 2011

When I first shared my Napa marathon training program, some of you might have been skeptical of my weekly targets (I know I was Smile). After all, the plan was not accounting for the holidays or travel and thus I had double-digit runs scheduled on Thanksgiving weekend, Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve. If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you are probably thinking I’ve fallen into my usual vacation routine while in Hawaii – eat too much, work out less, gain 5lbs, beat myself up afterwards and share the outcome with rest of the world via another sappy post.

I bet you’ll be pleasantly surprised (like I was) to hear that Hawaii was my first vacation destination where I did not gain weight! I made a vow to myself that I will not gain weight over Thanksgiving, and I returned a week later only 0.4lbs heavier (anything less than half a pound does not count in my book). How was I able to pull that off, after eating the mountain of Hulu pie twice?

I had yogurt and fruit for breakfasts, and veggies and fish for lunch most days, and at dinner time I splurged on yummy alcoholic beverages and decadent desserts (but never a full portion and always shared with my hubby). I made sure to stay active every day by either swimming, hiking, walking or running. I stuck with my running schedule and did three shorter runs on the beach walkway near our hotel. I ran mostly at dawn to avoid the heat. For my longer run of 11 miles, I decided to venture out to the south side of the island. Early Sunday morning, Eric dropped me off just as we entered Kihue (right next to a garage sale sign… do you think he is trying to get rid of me? Smile)

The first 4-5 miles weren’t very scenic but once I hit 6 miles and the road began to curve uphill, I quickly realized why most expensive hotels are located in this part of the island. It was so perfectly still that I almost felt bad for disturbing the natural peace of the surroundings with my loud stomping and heavy puffing.

WP_000195WP_000196

I was not completely by myself, and a few times a some of the locals crossed my path.

WP_000193

When nature called, I figured I might as well check out the Four Seasons hotel. It was super fancy with no ceiling or back wall so you can see the infinity pool and the ocean as soon as you enter the hotel lobby. I’d love to stay at this place next time, but I bet it has a pretty hefty price tag.

WP_000199

Eric keeps dreaming about an oceanfront home and I passed a perfect location for it (We’ll have to start playing the lotto.)

WP_000200

The uphill lasted for 3 miles or so. My hubby, waiting for me at a beach 11 miles from where he dropped me off, was thoughtful enough to send me a heads up text message “a bit uphill after mile 6, but not too bad” (He forgot to mention – that’s if you are driving in a car!) It was close to 80 degrees. I was hot, my body was swollen and heavy, and so I barely dragged myself up that hill. When I got to the top, the view was well worth it!

WP_000202

WP_000204

It took me 1:53 to complete 11 miles, one of my slower runs. I was able to cover 12.1 miles in 1:52 the following weekend back in Northwest weather with even steeper hills. But nothing beats a sandy beach finish.

WP_000189

To date, I’ve been training for over 6 weeks, and so far I have met or slightly exceeded all my weekly mileage goals.

Week Date Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun
Planned 27-Nov Yoga 3 m run Cross 3 m run Yoga 6 m pace 11
Actual 27-Nov Yoga 3 m run Elliptical 6 m run 4 m run 4 mile hike 11
Planned 4-Dec Yoga 3 m run Cross 3 m run Yoga 6 m run 12
Actual 4-Dec short hike 4 m run Rest 6.8 m + circuit training Yoga 4 m run 12
Planned 11-Dec Yoga 3 m run Cross 3 m run Yoga 6 m pace 9
Actual 11-Dec Yoga 3 m  + marathon training Elliptical + circuit training 6.8 m + circuit training Yoga 9 m + Yoga 4.5 m, Abs, Yoga

 

Things are going to get more interesting in the upcoming weeks. We have many holiday engagements, which obviously will include consumption of tasty seasonal treats and high volumes of alcohol (which I will attempt to moderate) while at the same time I will be ramping up my mileage for the long runs. Hopefully, I’ll start the new year on the right foot to excel at the RnR Arizona half marathon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 8:07 pm

    You are so lucky you got a spot at Napa! Its totally booked now! Way to rock an awesome vacation like that!

Leave a Reply

