Skip to content

Running in the New Year

January 1, 2012

How do runners ring in the new year? By running of course Smile

I had a 17 mile run on my schedule this weekend, so I figured I might as well wrap up 2011 with a nice long run. The weather gods were on my side as  sun actually came out and the temperature was in the low 40s.

Some old habits are worth carrying into the new year, like my pre-run breakfast of toast, PB and banana.

IMG_7774IMG_7775

A new running outfit undoubtedly would help anyone’s motivation.

IMG_7780IMG_7783

Even though I claimed I’d never shop at Lululemon, I have become a convert (when I can get it on sale). The Run Inspire Crop II is the best running pant I have ever worn. It feels like second skin, and there was no chafing at all. Well worth the money.

My route consisted of two connecting loops. Each loop optimized around easily accessible bathroom locations. My two favorite stops are my gym (I swear I am there more than home) and Whole Foods. I visited Whole Foods twice. The second stop was on the way back as I did not bring any fuel with me, so a couple of Mighty-O donuts and cheese samples were perfect to carry me through the last 3 miles. (a tip for budget-conscious runners out there – stay close to Whole Foods for water and free samples).

I came a bit short of the planned 17 miles, but anywhere between 16-17 miles meets the training goal in my books.

IMG_7786

After my long run, it was time for a well-deserved spa treat. My muscles were singing Hallelujah after some needed soak in whirlpool followed by a quick massage and mani/pedi.

Eric and I were thinking of keeping it low-key this New Year’s Eve and did not make any plans. Once 6pm rolled around we were trying to figure out what we should do for dinner. Luckily, there were still a bunch of places available on www.opentable.com (if you’ve never heard about this site, it’s great for reading restaurant reviews, checking availability and making instant reservations.) We opted to splurge on a nice steak dinner and returned to one of our favorite spots – John Howie’s. The place was happening but not over packed (unlike every time we’ve been to Daniel’s Broiler), and the steaks were superb!

IMG_7790

It’s a good thing we split a baked potato as it was big enough to feed a family of four for a week and then some. The best thing about this place is their freshly-baked bread basket with various mini buns of all sorts – cheese puff, pretzel, ciabatta, some fancy crackers. If you are nice to your waiter he’ll even bring you extra of your favorite kind.  Oh, yeah bring on the cheese puffs and the pretzels – that’s why I run crazy distances!

IMG_7788IMG_7789

Happy smiling people

IMG_7797IMG_7792

Check out Eric’s new watch. One of his many Chrismukkah presents Smile

IMG_7800

We passed on overpriced dessert and instead picked up a few tasty things at Whole Foods – mini cheesecakes, tiramisu cupcake and sparkling wine. I felt that after the hospitality Whole Foods had shown me, it’s only fair I came back the third time to give them some business. The only downside to such a wonderful day is that I completely passed out on the couch by 10pm and the next thing I knew Eric was shaking me to give me a happy new year kiss as Dick Clark was doing the countdown on TV. When did I become such a babushka wrapping myself is shawls and unable to stay up until midnight?! (rhetorical question).

[Jane Asks]: How did you ring in the new year? Did you go out, stay in, host a party?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kristin tidd permalink
    January 1, 2012 7:24 pm

    Happy new year Jane! I was also sound asleep before midnight. I almost bought the run crops at Lulu but I couldn’t get over the shine factor if their newer fabric. But I love how they fit my shorter legs, almost tights but not quite.

    • January 2, 2012 7:01 am

      They are a bit shiny, but it does not bother me too much. They feel incredible when running. They offer a bit compression, but are very stretchy and smooth so they follow the body’s every movement without any resistance or discomfort. I am getting a second pair as soon as another color goes on sale 🙂

Leave a Reply

