Skip to content

When you make it, fake it

February 2, 2012
tags:

Healthy eating in a nutshell is pretty simple – eat minimally processed natural clean foods, just like our ancestors used to do.

clip_image002

But there is only so much oatmeal, salad, chicken, steamed veggies and brown rice a girl can take. Once in a while Most of the time, I crave comfort foods – burger and fries, pizza, cheesecake, etc.

clip_image004

Instead of driving down to the nearest greasy joint to calm the “must have fatty food now” shakes, I say – make it yourself (with a healthy spin) to stay within your eating goals while satisfying the urge. I searched long and hard Thanks to Amazon reviews and recommendations, I found three cookbooks that got rave reviews for turning American classics into nutritious and sensible menu options.

Given that I’ve been on the Biggest Loser kick lately, it’s not surprise that the first book I purchased was the Biggest Loser Cookbook.

The Biggest Loser Cookbook: More Than 125 Healthy, Delicious Recipes Adapted from NBC's Hit Show

Amazon delivery is super-fast and in a day I had my cookbook waiting on the doorstep. I decided to start out with something easy and fun – BBQ chicken pizza.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large whole wheat tortilla (my favorite is La Factory low carb tortilla. Only 80 calories, all natural and high in fiber and protein)
    Product Photo
  • 1-2 TBS BBQ sauce (The trick with BBQ sauce is that many brands overload it with sugar, but if you check the nutrition info you can find one that is less than 7g of sugar per serving.)

  • 3oz Cooked chicken breast (I buy pre-packed grilled chicken breast strips from Trader Joe’s for my salads. They have no added preservatives and are low in sodium)
  • ¼ of red onion sliced
  • ¼ cup of shredded light Mozzarella cheese (Trader Joe’s has a great selection of low fat cheeses that are still full in flavor).

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
  • Place the tortilla on a baking sheet
  • Spread BBQ sauce on the wheat tortilla
  • Top off with chicken, red onion and ¼ cup of shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes until the cheese is melted

IMG_7973

Cut up in 4 slices and serve with a side salad. Delicious and nutritious. The whole meal is under 350 calories!

IMG_7977

The other book that I got was by Hungry Girl.

Hungry Girl 1-2-3: The Easiest, Most Delicious, Guilt-Free Recipes on the Planet

I’ve checked out thehungrygirl.com numerous times, and the crustless pumpkin pie I made in the fall was her idea. I have my eye set on the Cannoli Cones, so stay tuned how those turn out.

The last book I selected but have yet to purchase is by Rocco, a celebrity chef who made a couple of appearances on the Biggest Loser. He used to be overweight as I expect any chef with passion for delicious food should be (if you see a skinny chef, they’ve got to be fake or their food sucks). At some point Rocco had a revelation that he wanted to lose weight, so he revamped his cooking style to cut calories and fat but apparently not the taste.

clip_image005

[Jane Asks]: What are your favorite cookbooks?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 7:03 pm

    Now I’m hungry!!!!

Leave a Reply

