Skip to content

Rest of my life

February 21, 2012
tags:

With less than two weeks until the big race day, it’s time to start tapering. In the context of sports, tapering refers to the practice of reducing exercise in the days just before an important competition (as defined by Wikipedia). However, in the context of Jane’s addictions, tapering is so much more.

image

 

First and foremost I will decrease my mileage over the next two weeks to less than 20 miles per week.

 

image

 

I will consume wholesome foods to fuel my body (rather than to please my mind, which I have a strong tendency to do). That means I will be eating lots of fruits, veggies, lean protein, and low-fat dairy. For complex carbs I prefer brown rice, oats, sweet potato and whole wheat pasta (but in moderation as it tends to make me feel bloated).

 

image

There will be no alcohol until after the race (I made an announcement to whole world, so now I have to keep it). Over the weekend, Eric and I finished the last bottle of red wine in the house (to make room for new & delicious zinfandels from our trip to Napa/Sonoma). Until then, my wine rack will remain bare to avoid any temptations even on a relaxing weekend night.

image

 

I will practice yoga and try to incorporate more classes over the next two weeks. My muscles can benefit from extra stretching and foam-rolling sessions.

 

image

 

I will rest. This is a hard one for me, as I am usually in the “go-go” mode, but this is where I need to listen to my body and provide it with well-deserved rest so it can recover.

 

 

To follow my own preaching, instead of joining my running buddies for our usual Saturday morning group run, I called in sick and spent the entire day in PJs on the coach recuperating. With 16 training weeks under my shoe and the February blues in full swing (the one sunny week was just a big tease), I was feeling completely drained. It’s been so long since Eric and I had a lazy day together. We started off with a late breakfast of blueberry pancakes, eggs and fresh fruit.

IMG_8098IMG_8100

Between the two of us, we had no problem polishing off the entire pile of 9 blueberry Kodiak pancakes.

IMG_8087

We then proceeded to the couch where we spent the next few many hours snuggled under blankets flipping between movies and the backlog of TV shoes in the Netflix queue. We took occasional stretch breaks and emerged from piles of blankets, pillows, furry paws and whiskers to replenish our snack supplies.

IMG_8110

It was a fabulous rest day and exactly what I needed.

The next morning, I was itching to break a sweat and get my legs moving again. I ended up covering 11.6 miles on my own. Eric and I met for lunch at Gyro World where I had one of my favorites – chicken souvlaki plate. They were out of feta… Sad smile

IMG_8103

I can’t leave the place without a slice of Baklava. I figured from all the tempting desserts out there, this is probably the healthiest option (at least that’s what I keep telling myself with every delicious bite). Baklava is mostly made of nuts and honey, with a bit of pastry to hold it together.

IMG_8105

Sometimes the best thing to do is do nothing, and I totally reaped the benefits of my rest day at my next yoga class. My hamstrings were not as tight in spite of the long run the day before. My hips were not aching for the first in a few weeks, and my mind was completely relaxed, eagerly awaiting each posture.

[Jane Asks]: When was the last time you had a rest day?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    February 21, 2012 8:38 pm

    Where is Gyro World? I love a good Mediterranean place – plus Baklava is one of my all time faves too. Good luck with the race, I can’t wait to hear about it!!

    • February 22, 2012 5:19 am

      There is one near the Bella Bottega plaza: 16114 Northeast 87th Street, Redmond, WA 98052. We should go there for lunch after I am back and I’ll tell you all about the race 🙂

  2. Kristin Tidd permalink
    February 28, 2012 8:49 pm

    Yes! Let’s do it, maybe we will get lucky & have a sunny weekend & get a nice walk in on the trail first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

