Skip to content

Carbspiracy

February 28, 2012
tags:

I am having a Seinfeld moment.

Remember the episode about the 8 hot dogs and 12 buns? I refuse to believe that some folks have not seen every episode of Seinfeld at least three times. It’s one of the most memorable, quotable shows in television history. My little heart just might not be able to handle the truth of either me being old, not funny or having bad taste in sitcoms. But in case you don’t recall the particular episode, here is the dialogue I am referring to:

[at a supermarket]
George: I’ll tell you what I’m doing. I want to buy eight hot dogs and eight hot dog buns to go with them. But no one sells eight hot dog buns. They only sell twelve hot dog buns. So I end up paying for four buns I don’t need. So I am removing the superfluous buns. Yeah. And you want to know why? Because some big-shot over at the wiener company got together with some big-shot over at the bun company and decided to rip off the American public. Because they think the American public is a bunch of trusting nit-wits who will pay for everything they don’t need rather than make a stink. Well they’re not ripping of this nitwit anymore because I’m not paying for one more thing I don’t need. George Banks is saying NO!
Stock Boy: Who’s George Banks?
George: ME!

I am just as annoyed with the food packaging conspiracies when it comes to pasta and tomato sauce.

IMG_8066

Most pre-packaged pastas are 1lb in weight which is somewhere between 7-8 servings, but most sauce jars are 1lb 10 ounces which is 5-6 servings.

IMG_8072IMG_8070

Those big shots at the sauce company just could not spare a few extra ounces of sauce to make bigger jars. So now I find myself in a similar dilemma like George with 2 servings of unused pasta.

IMG_8078

Of course, my smart readers would think of a few options to easily solve this problem:

1. Use up all pasta. Carbs are good for runners. You are correct that carbs are good, but I am finicky about my pasta, and the ratio of sauce to noodles has to be just right so it’s not too runny or too dry.

2. Save up 2oz and after 3 packages you’ll have enough for the right ratio. Yes, but I so seldom eat pasta that I worry those will go stale faster than I can use the remainders.

3. Buy pasta at the bulk section of Whole Foods, so you can measure exactly 12 oz of dry pasta to go with the 6 servings of sauce. That would work, assuming Whole Foods carries the one I like.

4. Stop being a cheapo and just toss the remainder out. I hate wasting food.

5. Add extra sauce. Ah, but then you are stuck with an open jar of Marinara in your fridge that apparently turns moldy in less than two weeks. At my pasta consumption rate, I’d have to throw it out.

6. Write nasty letters to pasta and sauce manufacturers until they fix this. With my blog postings being as sparse as they are nowadays this would just take away time from writing for you, my dear readers.

7. Continue to kvetch about life’s little annoyances. This should prepare me well for my unavoidable Jewish Bubby conversion.

 

After pulling myself together from all the pasta-sauce drama, I proceeded with dinner preparation.

IMG_8073

Sautee a bunch of random veggies and extra lean ground turkey

IMG_8081

Add some sauce and cooked noodles

IMG_8084

Top off with Parmesan cheese, and you’ve got the perfect runner’s dinner.

IMG_8086

Pasta can be one of the easiest and most balanced meals (if made right). It was the first thing I learned to cook, thanks to my roommates back in College who used to make a similar meal on a regular basis. Since then, I have upgraded to whole wheat noodles, organic veggies, and natural turkey, but the principle remains the same.

[Jane Asks]: Do you believe in food industry conspiracies?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 8:42 pm

    I think that quote is from Father of the Bride. AWESOME movie! 🙂

  2. Kristin Tidd permalink
    February 28, 2012 8:47 pm

    My favorite way to use up the rest of the sauce is to bake an egg in the sauce in a ramekin – until the egg yolk is set to your liking. With a little cheese sprinkled on top towards the end it’s a pretty good use of the sauce – especially with a nice piece of toast.

  3. February 29, 2012 5:30 am

    @Rachel. You are so right! I can’t believe I messed that up! I usually have pretty good memory for quotes. I guess that’s what happens when you get old 🙂

  4. IT Dame permalink
    February 29, 2012 12:46 pm

    Once one very nice and very intelligent young man shared with me ( as a big secret ) that he does not like whole wheat noodles/pasta but he loves his little beautiful wife so he eats it. Just a thought…

    • March 12, 2012 3:56 pm

      I believe the man’s food preferences have changed as did his wives cooking craftsmanship and ability to disguise whole wheat noodles 🙂

Leave a Reply

