Skip to content

Seahawks 12K

April 11, 2012
tags:

I took two full weeks off from running, but I failed to adjust my calorie consumption, so I kept eating like I had 4000 thousand extra calories a week in the fuel tank. It’s amazing how quickly those extra calories pile up. Good thing I have a half marathon coming up in May, so I am back on the streets and treadmills. To help motivate myself, I signed up for a local 12K Seahawk run.

2photo

Over 3000 runners gathered at Renton Landing to loop around the Seahawks’ Training Center. That’s more than the Napa Marathon! A couple of fellows from work joined me in my running mission.

4

We were chatting away the first two miles until I slowed down to take off my jacket.

3
Seeing that it was pouring rain the day before, and the weather forecast was promising further showers, I wanted to keep warm and dry during the race. Instead it was all sunshine, and I ended up tying the jacket around my waist. I was able to re-pin my bib while keeping a sub-9 pace.

67

I found it a bit strange that the mile markers were off by 0.1-0.2 miles all through the course. I planned on sprinting to the finish after passing the 7 mile marker. I figured even with the measurements being off, I’d have about 0.2-0.3 miles to cover. I ended up running 7.65 miles (12.3K). I know folks around here are not accustomed to metric, but come on!

Official results:

 

NO

FN

LN

AGE

SEX

DIVISION

CITY

STATE

OVERALL

DIVPL

SEXP

TIME

PACE

clip_image001clip_image002

954

Jane

Lawrence

29

F

F2529

Redmond

WA

273

18/165

66

1:04:38

8:40

I came 18th in my division, and 66th out of all females. Not my fastest personal time, but not too shabby!

I am thinking of doing a 10K downtown Bellevue race next: http://www.bellevuerun.com/. There is a 5K option as well. Anyone want to join me?

One Comment leave one →
  1. kristin tidd permalink
    April 11, 2012 8:27 pm

    I did the Bellevue 10k last year. Its a good course, plus you can have brunch at Gilbert’s on Main after the race. Be ready for some hills 🙂 I wish I could join you!

Leave a Reply

