Skip to content

Eat To Live

September 12, 2012

The first time, I read Dr. Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live was a few years ago when I was preparing for my wedding. At that time I was highly motivated to get into the best shape possible, as a big fluffy white dress will make even Kate Moss look like the Michelin Man. I was introduced to the book by my personal trainer at the time and based on her recommendation I followed the plant-based micronutrient diet for a couple of months prior to the wedding. I have to admit I never looked better than on my wedding day. Besides losing a bunch of weight and cutting my body fat percentage in half, I noticed other positive changes that I was not expecting: my hair got thicker; my skin was glowing and blemish free; I had tons of energy and my cravings for sweets and processed foods were gone after the first week. Now, my memory is a bit fuzzy, as at that point of my life, anything that prevented me from looking like a big white marshmallow wobbling down the aisle would have met the bar. While bridal nightmares may have motivated some of my respect for the book, I was happy to see that all three documentaries featured Dr. Fuhrman’s beliefs. If you have not read the book, I strongly recommend it.

So what is Eat to Live all about?

It’s written by a doctor who references research and numerous studies that have been done to confirm that plant-based diets can help cure and prevent many deadly diseases such as obesity, diabetes, heart conditions and even cancers that are taking America by storm. After spending the first half of the book explaining why animal products are bad and plants are good, the book then features two diet plan options. The first one is less aggressive and allows for small amounts of animal protein such as eggs and dairy, while the second option is purely vegan.

The food recommendations are simple:

  • Eat raw vegetables as much as you want. Salads are best and the book offers a few healthy dressing recipes.

IMG_7976

  • Eat all the cooked green vegetables, eggplants, peppers, mushrooms, and tomatoes that you want. Ratatouille here we come Smile
  • Eat beans, bean sprouts and tofu (at least 1 cup daily). Thai food! Yum!
  • Eat fruit (at least 4 servings daily). I am so there already.

IMG_6125

  • May eat one serving of starchy vegetables such as potatoes and corn as well as whole grains. Only a handful of sweet potato fries Sad smile

IMG_7278

  • May eat 1oz of nuts daily. Almonds, walnuts, cashews, pistachios, peanuts… So many to choose from. Nuts are addictive. Luckily many stores now carry pre-packaged handfuls that you can stash in your desk at work, bag, or car.

IMG_5849

  • May eat 2oz of Avocado daily. Chipotle’s Vegetable salad is on the list. Phew!

WP_000125

  • May eat 1Tbsp of ground flax seed daily. The easiest way to consume flaxseed is in oatmeal, cereal or smoothies. I like Spectrum brand the best. It’s nutty and bit sweet with no strong aftertaste, which makes for a great mix-in. I get it through amazon, since it’s a bit cheaper in bulk, but you can find it at Whole Foods as well.

  • May drink wine (up to 4 glasses daily)*** Jane’s addiction addition

IMG_9347

*** Since wine is made of grapes, it can technically be consumed in unlimited quantities without violating the above recommendations. Since light exercise is encouraged daily (as is employment to cover the bills for all the organic produce I’ll eating) I have to cap it at a certain limit.

Armed with all my recent knowledge from the documentaries, there is no better time to give Eat to Live another shot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

