Skip to content

Nutty Banana Bread

November 19, 2012
tags:

I remember once in college, my roommate made banana bread. It was divine! As I reached for my second slice she smiled at me and said “Guess how much butter is in the loaf? 1 stick”. Ever since then I shied away from dessert breads of any kind. But when bananas are going bad, I see you have two options: toss them or start searching for a lower-fat banana bread recipe.

IMG_9656

Thanks to the Polish sisters, Janet and Greta Podleski, I was able to find a healthier spin on the Southern classic.

IMG_9663IMG_9660 

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl:

  • 1 3/4 cups of flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • Walnuts (to taste)

IMG_9666IMG_9669

Beat 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of sugar with mixer. Add 3 large mashed bananas, 3/4 cup buttermilk (I did not have any buttermilk on hand so I used almond milk), 2tbsp vegetable oil, 2 tsp vanilla. Beat again. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix well. Fold in walnuts.

IMG_9671IMG_9672

Bake for 50-50 minutes at 350 degrees.

IMG_9677IMG_9679

Let cool completely and wrap in saran wrap or enjoy while warm.

IMG_9682IMG_9687

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kristin permalink
    November 20, 2012 9:42 pm

    Cooking light also has a great banana bread recipe that I have used for years. It uses plain yogurt instead of buttermilk & I always have some Greek yogurt to use up. I halve the sugar & sub in whole wheat for half the white flour for a 50/50 white to wheat version.

    Hope all is well!!

    http://www.cookinglight.com/eating-smart/from-the-editors/banana-bread-recipes-staff-favorites-00400000041611/

Trackbacks

  1. First Trimester «

Leave a Reply

