Skip to content

Lady and the Tramp

February 8, 2013

Week 17: The baby is 5 inches long weighs about 5 ounces, roughly the size of a mango. Every morning, Eric gives my belly a hug while giggling “Bellllllyyyyy! <insert some cute baby saying here>.” He finds the oddest moments to do his belly squeeze. Just as I think I have figured out his pattern and can anticipate him coming, he takes me by surprise by sneaking up on me while I am packing lunch, doing dishes or brushing teeth.

IMG_1930IMG_9936IMG_0003

The other day when I turned on the TV, Lady and the Tramp was on the Family Channel. One of my favorite scenes is when the two pups share a candle-lit Italian dinner of spaghetti and meatballs.

lady_and_the_tramp

For pregnant women, this cute romantic moment translates to an uncontrollable craving for spaghetti and meatballs. Traditional Italian meatballs use a mix of beef and pork (which I don’t eat). Since there is no Trader Joe’s nearby, I decided to make my own turkey meatballs to satisfy the urge.

Turkey Meatball Recipe

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl:

  • 1lbs of Lean Ground Turkey
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1tsp of each parsley and oregano
  • 1/2 cup of bread crumbs (I used panko which are Japanese-style bread crumbs and they did not work well for this recipe. The texture of the crumb is too light. Italian-style bread crumbs should work much better)
  • 1 egg lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup onion finely chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

IMG_9943IMG_9944

Roll the mixture into individual balls (I like a good size meatball, so I got 20 medium size balls.)

IMG_9946

Bake on a lightly sprayed cookie sheet for 25-30 minutes at 350.

IMG_9953IMG_9959

For a more authentic dining experience, start with a Caprese salad (tomato, mozzarella, fresh basil) before the main course.

IMG_9965IMG_9966

[Jane Asks]: What’s your favorite Disney movie? Mine is Little Mermaid ever since I was ten years old and had my grandma dye my hair red brown with Henna.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2013 6:46 pm

    Congratulations Jane! Lingda and I send you our best wishes, enjoy this time as it is the easiest it will be to take care of your little one. Felix is now 3 months and trust us they grow super quick.

Leave a Reply

