Skip to content

Going South

February 22, 2013

For our third wedding anniversary, Eric and I decided to take a mini-trip Southward and explore our new home state. Our first stop was a small historic town, Gruene, located about halfway between Austin and San Antonio. We grabbed some lunch at Gris Mills restaurant overlooking the Guadalupe river.

IMG_9972IMG_9977

Gruene is a tourist attraction hosting numerous little gift shops, including one that sells homemade Pecan candy.

IMG_9981

You know you are in Texas when you find a real bullet (likely a .38 slug) on the side on the road. This is my first time holding a bullet. (Yes, I washed my hands afterward).

IMG_9980

Our main destination was San Antonio where we were going to spend a night at Eilan Hotel Resort and Spa. We stopped by the Alamo, location of pivotal events in Texan history and a place that Texans hold proudly in their hearts. The battle of Alamo is actually a really sad but honorable story of defeat. After 13 day siege, the Mexican troops defeated Texan defenders sparing only the women and children.

IMG_0013IMG_0017

The weather was not the best, but we still enjoyed the River Walk, watching tourist boats go by.

IMG_0019IMG_0038

We stopped by the best place at the River Walk – Boudro’s. We both selected TexMex dishes and they were terrific. Eric went with chicken-fried flank steak, mashed potatoes and coleslaw. I had chicken enchiladas.

IMG_0022lunch

The best part was the Louisiana-style bread pudding.

IMG_0027IMG_0033IMG_0036

For our anniversary dinner, we headed to Silo Elevated Cuisine, recommended by the hotel’s concierge. Eric chose lamb and I had scallops. Both were outstanding.  The scallops were particularly amazing. They were giant and meaty. The first batch was too salty for my pregnant taste buds, so I got a new set delivered promptly ( I even got an extra scallop for the trouble Smile)

IMG_0042IMG_0039

As usual, we finished our special dinner with one of my favorite deserts – Crème Brule.  Crème Brule carries a special significance in our relationship, as early on I joked with Eric that I would marry a man who can make me a good Crème Brule. He has yet to attempt to make one from scratch, but over the years he has paid for some of the best Crème Brules out there. 🙂

IMG_0044IMG_0046

Cheers to the three years of happy marriage and many more to come (as I raise my water glass).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

