Skip to content

Fitting Back In

April 5, 2013

IMG_2018Week 25 – The baby measures about 13.5 inches and weighs 1.5lbs, about the size of an average rutabaga. I had no idea what rutabaga was (it’s a root vegetable similar to a large beet), but luckily our local grocery store had one in stock.

I have another doctor’s appointment. During the visit I mention that I am feeling pressure around my belly button and I’m assuming it’s due to my skin and belly stretching to accommodate the growing fetus.

The doctor smiles and says “Jane, your baby is going to be 5 times the size it is now by the delivery date. You have only just begun to stretch.”

“But it will shrink right? Go back to the way it used to be afterwards?”

He smirked. “You just worry about having kids. You can take care of things afterwards.” Eric had a kick out of his response, mostly because he was watching my face. It’s unclear whether he meant plastic surgery or a rigorous diet and exercise regimen. This conversation prompted me to inquire of my mommy friends at the gym to see how quickly and easily their bodies bounced back post-pregnancy. Most did not go into details, but politely replied that it depended on the body type. They also reassured me that I looked great and I should keep up with workouts and get back into exercise as soon as I can after delivery. I appreciated their kind words, even though I look more like I belong in a teen vampire flick– with my transparent pale skin, bulging blue veins and bleeding gums.

I am not aiming to walk Victoria Secret runway three months post-pregnancy like Heidi Klum or pose for a bathing suit photo-shoot like Gisele Bundchen (those are super humans with millions of dollars resting upon their looks).

klumheidipreggisele-post-baby-1

I would, however, like to get back to wearing my regular clothes. After all, I have a closet full of cute outfits that I have carefully gathered over the years. (it’s either that or my maternity wear).

IMG_2028

As a motivation, I’ve picked my next race – the 3M Half Marathon on January 19, 2014. Registration opens in June, and I can’t wait to sign up and get back into running shape. With this gorgeous March weather, I am craving running more than wine.

Thanks to Groupon we tried out a new restaurant – Soleil. The restaurant is located at the Oasis, a beautiful viewpoint of Lake Travis.

WP_20130330_014

The weather was perfect for patio dining and the view was breathtaking. The atmosphere reminded us of our last trip to Hawaii.

soleil

The service was friendly and the food was delicious. I ordered the duck with sweet potato and blueberry mash while Eric indulged in scallops with creamy corn risotto.

soleil3WP_20130330_010

With a second deal already queued up in my account, we’ll be back to Soleil very soon.

[Jane Asks]: What’s your take on how hard it is to get into pre-pregnancy shape post baby?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2013 1:43 pm

    I know you Jane! Your body will go back!

  2. April 5, 2013 1:53 pm

    If not, you’ll have to come kick my butt 🙂

Leave a Reply

