Skip to content

3D Gift

April 19, 2013

IMG_2043 Week 27 – my due date is exactly 3 months away. The baby is about 14 1/2 inches long with legs extended and weighs just under two pounds, about the size of a head of cauliflower. (This is the biggest cauliflower head I could find. It’s only a pound, so pretend it’s twice the size.)

I’ve been waking up with leg cramps, which are apparently common, due to my large uterus restricting blood flow to my lower legs. Luckily, my hubby is quick to massage my legs while I squirm under the covers.

My skin is getting oiler due to the hormones, which is contributing to the glowing effect– but it’s also triggering breakouts and causing my makeup to slide all over my face.

Last year, while biking through the French countryside, I was certain there was no way we could top my birthday celebration, but I was wrong. My birthday weekend started off with a beautiful bouquet of pink roses.

IMG_2061IMG_2058

On Sunday morning, Eric insisted on making me breakfast. This was a big deal in our household, since Eric has cooked only a handful of meals in our years together. He was confident that he has seen me prepare breakfast enough times that he could replicate it (without setting the house on fire). He also pointed out that he needs to practice now before the baby so they can do this together for future birthdays and Mother Day’s.

IMG_2066

It was a perfect April day in Texas – sunny and in the 80’s. We decided to check out a park whose entrance was only 2 miles from our house. Little did we know, this park is a natural wildlife reserve park with trails and camp grounds. Seven miles into our drive on City Park Road, we finally arrived at a parking lot by Lake Austin.

IMG_0286

After strolling for an hour on the bank of Lake Austin, we grabbed some lunch and frozen yogurt.

IMG_0292IMG_0295

Later in the afternoon we headed to claim my special gift – a 3D sonogram at Clearview Ultrasound. Seeing my baby’s face for the first time was definitely the gift of a lifetime. He was sleeping peacefully with a hand tucked under his ear on a placenta pillow (his papa’s sleeping position as well). He did smile/smirk at us through the appointment as he heard our voices and laughs. He also opened his right eye, which I have to admit was a bit freaky. Here are some photos of my little Eric-lookalike.

AA_17AA_9AA_10

AA_30AA_26AA_35

If you are baby-crazy and can’t get enough of ultrasound photos, here is the full 15-minute sonogram video.

 

Of course, no birthday is complete without my favorite dessert from Mandola’s Italian Market.

IMG_2048IMG_2054

[Jane Asks]: What is the most memorable birthday gift you’ve ever gotten?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    April 19, 2013 7:38 am

    Love the sono pictures! I never get tired of them. We got the video done with Abby and she looked exactly like the video. The most memorable birthday gift was a picture of Jack our dog by a local artist. It was matted and framed and made me cry. Jack was my first dog and so loveable.

    • April 19, 2013 11:06 am

      Aw… Maybe once the girls get older you get another pup? I grew up with a dog and he was my best friend. Whenever I got sad or angry, I’d cuddle or play with him for 10 minutes and all the bad feelings just went away.

  2. Kristin permalink
    April 19, 2013 2:00 pm

    Aww, the 3D is so amazing, the last ultrasound I had done of Max in the hospital the tech flipped on the 3D for 5 minutes or so, so I could see him. It was amazing seeing what he looked like & that he had so much hair – the little faces get me the most.

    A few years ago, Jack picked out beautiful 1/2 carat aquamarine & white gold studs for me & I adore them as aquamarine is my birthstone. He has good taste in jewelry at his young age.

Leave a Reply

