Skip to content

Babymoon

May 31, 2013

IMG_2150Week 33 – the baby weighs over 4lbs and has passed 17-inch mark, about a size of a pineapple.

This week we pack a suitcase and head on a quick babymoon to Galveston Island, about 3.5 hours east of Austin. (In case you are not familiar with this modern term, babymoon refers to the last vacation before the baby comes, usually taken in the second or early third trimester.) To my great relief, I was able to squeeze into two of my older bikinis, which, after a few chuckles, my husband declares as appropriate. Unsure of what else to pack, I decide to bring my entire summer maternity wardrobe – three dresses, two shorts, three tanks and one pair of capris, which does not even fill half a carry-on suitcase. I travel light these days.

The Beach

As soon as we checked into our hotel, we headed to the beach.

IMG_0173IMG_0181

We strolled along the water reminiscing about our childhood vacation memories, chased seagulls (there were tons of them), explored cool seashells and lounged with good books. Nothing seems to relax us more (and turn my hair into a complete Medusa head) than the smell of salty air, the feel of a light breeze, and the sound of waves.

IMG_0198IMG_0190

IMG_0206IMG_0298

The Pool

I was looking forward to some sunbathing time to show off my rock-hard abs. For the first time in my life I was not self-conscious about my midsection. On contrary, I proudly strutted my belly around (rather than trying to suck it in).

IMG_0214IMG_0207

Whoever said that swimming is a great exercise during pregnancy was right! When you have 25-30lbs of anchor pulling you down, you have to work much harder to stay afloat. I was out of breath after one lap. (I guess it’s not all fat after all Smile) Eric, on the other hand, was enjoying the pool time.

IMG_0220IMG_0223

The Island

Unlike our previous island destinations like Hawaii and Bahamas, Galveston lacks a laid back vibe (or maybe it’s as laid back as Texans get). The roads were filled with dumb-ass careless drivers, some even spotting crazy hubcaps (I wonder if they were part of the Conehead gang?). The sidewalks were clearly designed for much taller vehicles (big ol’ trucks) as one has come to expect in Texas, making getting out of the car when parallel parking real fun (especially when almost 34 weeks pregnant!).

IMG_0227IMG_0270
We passed by the Pleasure Pier which offered a number of rides, rollercoaster, and carnival attractions. We did not go in as we figured we’ll have plenty of opportunity to do this kind of stuff in the near future.

IMG_0233IMG_0229

Instead we cuddled while taking in peaceful sunset views.

IMG_0321IMG_0308

The Strand

One morning we spent in a historic district of Galveston called the Strand, which has turned into souvenir and gift shops galore. I was excited to see Zoltar, but I am pretty sure my wish to be big has already come true.

IMG_0271IMG_0283

I tried to find a fedora for Eric, but he did not care to get one. It was not until he saw this photo at home that he agreed that the one I picked out was pretty cool.

IMG_0274IMG_0277

Our final stop at the Strand was to see Elissa, an old ship that sailed all over the world for over 100 years performing various duties from transporting cotton to participating in Statue of Liberty’s centennial celebrations.

IMG_0281IMG_0279

The Food

Each room at the hotel we stayed at (Holiday Inn Resort Club) came with a full size kitchen and a living/dining area which was a big perk. Every day I’d make us big breakfasts of eggs, toast, yogurt and fruit and a couple of sandwiches for lunch. For dinner, we’d sample the local cuisine (aka seafood).

Shrimp & Stuff

First night we headed to a small fast-food joint known for their fried shrimp and crab balls. As far as fried stuff goes, this was probably one of the best places I’ve been to. Crab balls reminded me of miniature crabcakes. Neither Eric nor I were big fans of the hush puppies.

IMG_0158IMG_0162IMG_0168

Rudy & Paco (Hell No!) Saltwater Grill

We decided to try something fancier and made reservations at Rudy and Paco. To our great disappointment (and enormous frustration on my behalf), we were unable to eat at the restaurant due to their STRICT dress code policy which required no hats, no shorts and no sleeveless tops. We only brought shorts for Eric certain that it would not be a problem at a vacation destination as it’s never been in the past. Even the sob-story of our 40 minute drive, my giant pregnant belly and that there were only 4 other couples in the whole place did not sway the manager to bend the rules for us. Luckily, we walked across the street to another upscale yet casual place called Saltwater Grill where we were greeted with open arms and a sarcastic remark that we might need long pants to be seated.

imageIMG_0263

At Saltwater, Eric tried the daily Texas Snapper special while I enjoyed a lobster risotto. The food was marvelous, I just wished for a larger risotto portion.

IMG_0245IMG_0240

For dessert, we shared the tastiest apple streusel I’ve ever had.

IMG_0249

The Waterman

For our last dinner, we stayed on the west side of the island and went to the Waterman Restaurant.

IMG_0306

Once again Eric chose the snapper and after much hesitation I decided to give Atlantic Mahi-Mahi a try. After a few trips to Hawaii, I have become somewhat of a snob when it comes to Mahi-Mahi and Ahi, but this dish did not disappoint. The fish was very fresh and tasty.

IMG_0313IMG_0314

Ah, the pregnancy bliss. Can’t have wine, so surely we can splurge on dessert.

IMG_0325

This was a perfect mini-trip to relax and rest before the baby comes in a few weeks.

IMG_0331

On the way back through Houston we made a pit stop at Trader Joe’s to stock up on our favorites like turkey meatballs, fig butter, 75% fat free cheddar and coconut ice cream, which made this trip even better. I don’t know what I look forward to more – the baby or Trader Joe’s opening its first Austin location this fall. Smile with tongue out

[Jane Asks]: Do you have any vacation trips coming up this summer?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. thebabydoctorswife permalink
    May 31, 2013 3:01 pm

    Looks like a great time! Also funny that your trip is almost identical to ours in Maui, except we had two big kids with us…Not quite as romantic as yours.. You look great! You totally rocked the bikini!

  2. May 31, 2013 3:23 pm

    Thanks girl! I look forward to reading about your trip to Maui.

Trackbacks

  1. Beach Bums |

Leave a Reply

