Skip to content

The Russki is coming

August 29, 2013

A couple of weeks ago, my mom (bubbie) came to visit and meet her first and only grandson.

photo 5

Note: This is not Noah, but considering my mom loves wearing bright red lipstick, this photo seems highly appropriate.

After a few adjustment days (mostly on my part), it was really nice to have my mom here.  She helped clean up, did laundry and dishes, brought me snacks and water while I was breastfeeding, filled me in on family history, and kept me company while Noah was sleeping.

Having not been around babies for over 30 years, I was impressed how quickly my mom picked up the modern techniques for baby care activities (diaper changing, toy playing and bottle feeding). It only took a couple of accidents before she got the hang of diaper changing—boys give a special welcome to new caregivers. Winking smile Her old-school techniques of rocking, singing Russian lullabies and story-telling came in handy at entertaining and distracting Noah during his fussy periods.

photo 1photo 2photo 3

While mom watched Noah, I got to leave the house for some long overdue appointments. I finally had my nails and hair done. (That was obviously top priority! It took the technician 30 minutes to scrub my pregnancy callus off my beat-up feet. It’s still a work-in-progress, but at least now when my foot accidentally brushes against Eric’s in bed, he no longer howls in pain. Don’t even get me started on my post-pregga hair!)

photo 2

I made it to the doctor’s office for a physical exam. I ran some errands at the mall. I went to a mid-week Body Pump class at the gym. But most importantly, Eric and I had a chance to go out on a couple of dates. Of course, we had to carefully plan around the baby feeding times, and most of the conversations were about Noah, but they were grownup dates nevertheless. (At a distance, people would not have even guessed we were parents, until they came closer and noticed spit up stains and dark undereye circles).

IMG_1217

For our first date, we headed to Trudy’s – a local Tex-Mex restaurant chain. There are three locations in Austin and they are known for their large portions, lively atmosphere, and Mexican martinis. The Mexican martini is basically a concentrated margarita (with double the Tequila shaken over ice) and it’s delicious! It’s so good and strong that there is a two Martini limit per person. Coming off a nine-month dry spell, one was plenty for Eric and I to share.

IMG_1220IMG_1226

A quick stop at a frozen yogurt spot provided a sweet ending to our first date. We got back just in time for Eric to give Noah his bottle while mama headed to bed.

Date number two was at the Alamo Drafthouse, where we enjoyed a couple of summer ales while laughing our heads off at The Heat. If you have not seen it, it’s pretty vulgar but hilarious as you’d expect from the guy who produced Bridesmaids.

For our last date, we headed to the Cheesecake Factory, where I got to try their Skinnylicious Mojito (Splenda makes it way too sweet for my liking) and a giant veggie salad.

WP_20130809_003WP_20130809_008

In case you are wondering, food bloggers can be spotted a flash away and we look completely ridiculous.

WP_20130809_004photo 3

To thank my mom for all her babysitting, we had our first family outing to Saltgrass Steakhouse. This is my mom’s favorite steakhouse in Austin so far (she hasn’t had a chance to try that many yet). I am always impressed how such a tiny lady can devour a 12oz New York Strip in a few bites while Eric and I struggle to finish our 9oz sirloins.

IMG_1271 

To avoid crowds (in other words: germs and weird glances in case Noah cried), we went on Sunday in the late afternoon. To my surprise, even at the odd hour there were three other parties in the restaurant – a couple of older gals were enjoying their senior discount, a lonely man in the corner was sipping coffee over a Sunday newspaper, and a couple of students (who, judging by their hair and marks on their faces, literally just rolled out of bed) were having a late lunch. Noah was a real bore perfect baby companion as he napped the entire time.

Now we are back to just the three of us (plus Domino who is yet to lend a hand paw with the baby). Luckily, more help is on the way as Eric’s parents visit later in September.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. thebabydoctorswife permalink
    August 29, 2013 2:52 pm

    Glad you were able to get some dates in! Give me hope that we too can do it. You look AMAZING. seriously, it’s hard to believe you just had a baby! Gorgeous mama!

    • October 9, 2013 5:07 pm

      Carin, do you know Jane??? Crazy small world!

      • thebabydoctorswife permalink
        October 9, 2013 6:44 pm

        Just from the blog world! How do you?

Trackbacks

  1. Grandparents |
  2. Canyon Lake Getaway |

Leave a Reply

