Skip to content

Jane’s Pizza

December 11, 2013

When it comes to cooking, I usually tackle new recipes with great enthusiasm and curiosity. However, there are some recipes I stay clear of – anything involving dough. Maybe it’s because of my childhood memories of my grandma carefully preparing dough, sighing, moaning, and praying that it will rise, stretch, peel, and flake just right. Or maybe it’s because of my mom constantly saying how hard it is to make good dough, or perhaps simply the mess that it creates. Whatever the reason, I hold in the highest regard anyone who is brave enough to make their own dough. But like with every fear, there comes a point where you just have to face it dead on and get over it.

I’ve been contemplating making homemade pizza for a long, long time.

IMG_0227IMG_0223IMG_0224

While shopping at Trader Joe’s last week, I noticed premade whole wheat pizza dough, a perfect first step to cure my dough-phobia.

IMG_0240IMG_0232

I generally regard the pizza’s crust as a delivery mechanism for toppings, so the more veggies on top, the better.

IMG_0234IMG_0236

I figured I might as well go all out on my pizza experiment and use vegan cheese. Daiya has the best reputation in the vegan cooking bloggers’ world.

IMG_0237IMG_0239

Let the experiment begin. First step to get the dough on a floured flat surface and let it rest for 25-30 minutes. Then roll it out. Ok I can do this (after I run to the store to buy a rolling pin).

IMG_0243IMG_0246

On step two, which involved transferring dough to a baking sheet, I ran into a roadblock. The perfectly rolled-out dough tore the moment I tried to peel it off the counter. (Now I get while my grandma sighed so much while making pierogi.) But a good cook never gives up, and if there is a will there is a way. After about fifteen minutes, a dozen of profanities whispered under my breath, and a newfound respect for the teenage guys working at Austin’s Pizza, I was able to successfully stretch/roll/punch the dough into the baking dish.

IMG_0248IMG_0249

Let the layering begin. I used plain marinara sauce as the base, topped with some Daiya cheese.

IMG_0250IMG_0252

After 15-20 minutes in the oven, she is finally ready…

IMG_0259IMG_0261

For vegan pizza, it turned out pretty good. I should have used less cheese, as melted Daiya resembles cream cheese in texture. Eric ended up scooping most of it off, but he still reached for a second and third slice. Success!

IMG_0263IMG_0265

[Jane Asks]: Are you scared of dough?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    December 15, 2013 8:55 pm

    My two secrets to pizza at home: 1 – get a pizza stone, someone sometime will invite you to a Pampered Chef party. Get only the pizza stone, trust me. 2 – I roll/stretch my dough out on parchment paper with cornmeal, not flour. I then carefully slide the prepped dough/parchment paper set up to a cutting board (I really need a pizza peel), top & transfer to the stone. I bake for 7 minutes, carefully shimmy the parchment out & finish the pizza directly on the stone.
    This blog post on My Kitchen Addiction inspired my process, plus there are photos:
    http://www.mykitchenaddiction.com/2011/01/perfect-pizza-on-parchment-wfmw/

    Happy pizza-ing!

Leave a Reply

