Skip to content

Chillin’ with Dad

January 1, 2014

I started the new year on the right foot (or left — I don’t remember) with a 6 mile happy sunny run (we’ve been having nice weather here in Austin with highs in the sixties – read ’em and weep East Coast). I then continued to clean up shattered glass from kitchen counters and floors. A kitchen cabinet shelf fell down last night as Eric was unloading the dishwasher. It was not all his fault, as one of the pegs supporting the shelf fell out a couple of days prior. I, of course, put it aside, making a mental note to tell my husband as soon as he gets home from work, and completely forgetting about it… How bad could one tiny peg be? Well…

In the Jewish religion, it is customary for the groom to break a glass to conclude a wedding ceremony. The breaking of the glass reminds us that love, like glass, is fragile and must be protected. The glass is broken to protect the marriage with an implied prayer: "May your marriage last as long as it would take to repair this glass." Based on that analogy, 2014 will be filled with marital bliss, happiness and luck as we broke 5 glasses and 2 glass bowls.

IMG_0515

While I cleaned, my boys spent time together…

photo 1photo 2photo 3

 

IMG_0501IMG_0508IMG_0494

and Domino cuddled in her cozy bed.

IMG_0510IMG_0513

 

I don’t generally make resolutions for the new year. I set goals and make plans. For this year, here is my “to-do list”:

  • Get some house work done. I’ve been meaning to get our stairs refinished and new window treatments. Our backyard is in great need of TLC, as the Texan summer sun is harsh and cruel.
  • Run races. I have two half-marathons coming up (one in January and one in February. Check out my race schedule). I still need to figure out what other races I want to do this year.
  • Update my Linkedin profile and resume. Even though my current job as a new mom keeps me plenty busy and I don’t currently have plans to get back into the industry, I should get my stuff in order (while I still remember what life was like before Noah.)
  • Become a US citizen.  This year I am eligible to apply for a US citizenship. I’ll need to study for the test as my knowledge of American politics and the Constitution are limited to Jon Stewart on the Daily Show. My main motivation for taking the test is so I can finally vote! I hate sitting on the sidelines and letting other folks decide the future of the country where my son lives.
  • Book vacations. We have one family vacation already set, but we need to figure out our other travel plans for this year.
  • Plan Noah’s activity. For now, the little guy is happy spending all his waking time with mom. We have a good routine going, but Noah is starting to get more restless and bored if we spend too much time at home. I’ll be looking into some playgroups and swimming lessons for him.

2013 was an amazingly life-changing year. That said, I am super excited for 2014! It’s the year of firsts – first tooth, first step, first word, first trip to the beach, first time watching mom race… We get to marvel at our boy as he learns and discovers things for the first time and make lifetime memories that we’ll cherish forever (and retell to all his friends over and over againSmile).

I wish all my readers a very happy new year! May this year be filled with special moments that turn into precious memories. Thank you for your support and interest over the last year. I look forward to another year of running, eating, blogging and sharing stories about my life and family with you.

[Jane Asks]: What’s on your To-Do list for this year?

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. New Year’s Ritual |

Leave a Reply

