Skip to content

A Candle on the Cake

April 16, 2014

I am 32 years old, weighing a lot less than I did a year ago when I was 7 months pregnant, and still measuring ~5ft 4inches (on my tallest day). I’ve been the same height since I was 14. Darn, I was really hoping to grow just a bit this year.

For my birthday, Eric took a day off work to attend to this little guy, so mama could pamper herself: yoga in the morning and mani&pedi in the afternoon.

IMG_0909IMG_0916IMG_0914

IMG_0910

This year we celebrated with a dinner out at a New Orleans style American Bistro – Chez Zee. I’ve been there once before with a girlfriend for lunch, but this was Eric’s and Noah’s first visit.

IMG_0925

I ordered Ahi topped with Olive tapenade and lemon ailoi with finger licking fingerling potatoes and green beans. Yum! Eric had New Orleans style pecan-crusted chicken with wild rice pilaf. His plate was wiped clean – he used a slice of whole wheat sour dough bread to get every little bit of the delicious gravy.

IMG_0924IMG_0921

Chez Zee is known for their award-winning desserts (The key reason I picked them for my birthday dinner.) We usually tend to skip baked desserts and stick to wine and chocolate, but once a year (twice, three times tops), I indulge in a slice of cake. Chez Zee offered me a complimentary slice of their famous Lemon Rosemary cake. (The rosemary is actually grown in their garden).

birthday cake

Sensing this was an important night out, Noah was on his best behavior. He polished off a full cup of peas & carrots and a 4oz container of whole milk yogurt. (Good thing he was wearing his stretchy pants that night Smile)

IMG_0927

Here is to getting another year older, happier, and wiser and to another year with my amazing family. I could not wish for anything else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    April 19, 2014 12:08 pm

    Happy birthday Jane!! Hope you enjoyed yourself – and you look fantastic & very happy! All the best in the next year!

Leave a Reply

