Skip to content

Turkey Trot

December 3, 2014

The best way to justify a Thanksgiving feast is by burning some calories beforehand. So along with thousands of other Austinites, I participated in the Turkey Trot. The 5 mile race is one of the largest in Texas and is sponsored by Thundercloud Subs. I opted out of yet another ill-fitted 100% cotton shirt and instead picked up a $10 Thundercloud gift card. Score!

The race started at 9:30 so Eric, Noah and I headed downtown together following a nice family breakfast at home. Parking was a nightmare. Pretty much as soon as we entered 5th street there were road closures right, left, and center. After breaking a few traffic rules and racing through closed off streets with cop cars on both sides, I abandoned my men, got out of the car in the middle of a road and walked to the start line.

photo 1photo 2photo 3

The weather was perfect. I overdressed and two miles in I found myself ripping my bib to take off my jacket. The course was scenic and challenging with some small hills. We headed North and West and looped back down crossing the Town Lake and finishing at Parmer Center.

This was not my fastest race. I stopped at a porta-potty, took some photos, and talked to a guy dressed as a turkey with a cute turkey-dressed baby. It was a lot of fun. I might just have to do it again next year (planning for the parking situation ahead of time).

image

Later that evening we all got to indulge in our vegetarian Thanksgiving dinner of butternut squash soup, sweet potato latkes, mac&cheese, green beans, and cranberry sauce. Noah ate everything except for mac&cheese. Go figure! Smile

IMG_1494IMG_1495

Skipping the turkey made me feel even better this year after our visit to a local Zoo and Sanctuary. (All the animals were rescues!)

IMG_1490IMG_1483

Noah and I spent the longest at the turkey cage gobbling with the cute bird. The goose kept following Noah– I am guessing it was interested in his hat. Noah also enjoyed feeding goats.

IMG_1481IMG_1484

This month we also checked out Austin’s Aquarium. The place has had its share of controversy but it seemed okay, if a bit small.

photo 1photo 3photo 5

Noah is loving books these days. He selects a board book, brings it over, hands it to me, climbs into my lap and turns the pages as I read. Then we repeat it again and again with a different or same book. Once he gets bored with baby books, he moves on to more adult literature like learning how to help dad to code.

photo 1photo 2photo 3

Noah’s favorite activity is still spending time outside. He is getting more impatient staying in his stroller and prefers walking and running.

photo 2photo 3photo 5

photo 1photo 4photo 5

Noah is a very active, curious little boy. He loves poking at ant hills, playing in puddles, kicking dry leaves, bouncing on manholes and climbing everywhere.

photo 1photo 2photo 4

photo 2

Noah is a ball of energy. He is an absolute delight. Despite all the toys and having mom at his beck and call, it’s hard to keep him entertained at home. He gets bored easily, needs constant stimulation and social engagement, so we will be enrolling him in pre-school next year. Considering how well he’s done at Gymboree and kids’ club at the gym, I am not worried about any separation issues (at least not on his part. I might be the one wailing in the car missing him.) I have no doubt he will enjoy school, so it’s just a matter of finding the right place. We’ve been touring a few facilities and my hope is to have the place nailed down over the next month.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

